We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel with Good Amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in San Marcos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Hotel with Good Amenities”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Went for a weekend during Spring Break March 2014 and was exactly what I was expecting. Nice rooms and facilities. The only thing was my daughter left her phone there and it was never found or turned in from House Keeping.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spring W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coopl3usf, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Spring W,
Thank You for staying with us during Spring Break. I was pleased that you enjoyed the stay and apologize that your daughters phone was not located. I hope on your next trip to the area you will stay with us again.
Larry Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    604
    238
    136
    80
    41
See reviews for
366
120
24
461
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Magnolia, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

stayed one night (march 13th) in room 1011. I called and booked a corner room. It was very quiet. Never heard anyone. There was a girls softball tourney going on and the hotel was booked. Went down for Mgrs. reception (5:30/7:30). The lines at times for drinks were long but went very fast. I think they were long because they poured the drinks in small glasses. It didn't take long to drink the drink. If you drink beer that would be your best bet so you don't have to keep going up to get another drink. I have seen better snack selections at different Embassy's BUT they are "free" so take them or leave them. They did run out of salsa though. Employee's kept walking around cleaning tables and asking if everythings was alright. We asked for more towels (4 females in the room) and toilet paper at the front desk. By the time we took the elevator up the maid was walking to our room with it. Typical breakfast buffet. Once again it was crowded but never a wait. The only complaint I have is when I checked in they asked if I wanted it on my debit card or Charge card. I said I didn't care, the girls said if she put it on my debit there would by the $25. incidental fee for a few days. I said charge it then. Of course that wasn't true ... there was a $34.00 fee on the card instead. After a few days it dropped. The hotel is in a great location ... 2 minute drive to the outlet mall. Easy on Easy off freeway. Great place to stay if your going shopping! I ended up on the pull out .... I had a neck ache for about 3 days afterward .... I believe this hotel accepts dogs too ... I didn't see this prior to booking the room. I usually stay away from pet friendly hotels. I don't like pets on furniture and not everyone baths, and has their pets on flea and tick meds.

Room Tip: ask for a corner room. they are suppose to be bigger ... at this hotel they are down off the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coopl3usf, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Jody B,
Thank You for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. I appreciate the input and have addressed the front desk issue and making sure we are replenishing the snacks at the managers reception. We value your business and the comments are very helpful. I hope on your next trip to San Marcos you willl stay with us again.
Larry Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Here for a conference, facilities are clean and comfortable. The room is spacious with a separate living/workspace area from the bedroom. Bathroom large and spotless with excellent toiletries. Bed was comfy, restaurant food good, made-to-order and/or buffet breakfast makes it a super value. Only problem was 'wild child' noise from next door - after over 2 hours of that, I called front desk and it was handled promptly. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charcoll99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coopl3usf, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear charcoll99,
Thank You for taking the time to comment on your stay at my hotel. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the consistant service, amenities and value of the property. I hope on your next trip to the area you will stay with us again.
Larry Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We've stayed here 3 times (different years) and loved it each time. With 6 in our family, the rooms are perfect, and the location is a good midway point. The breakfast is amazing, as is the happy hour with ice cream for the kids. The hotel is clean and comfortable. There wasn't a parking charge when we stayed last year as some have mentioned recently, so I will have to check on this before we go next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khaavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coopl3usf, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear khaavi,
Thank You for commenting on your recent stay. I was pleased that you have stayed here before and returned. We value your business and apprecite the comments on your stay.
Thank You and hope to see you soon again in the property.
Larry Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I stay at this Hotel once a year, every year and they have been incredible all around! The staff is superb, it truly is "all about you". The complimentary breakfast exceeds any I've ever had with a "made to order" omelet bar.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCMMSTEELE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coopl3usf, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear CCMMSTEELE,
Thank You for staying with us once a year when your in the area. I was pleased to read how you enjoy the hotel staff and amenities.
Thanks and look forward to seeing you next year.
Larry Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
193 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Checked into hotel, outside our room there were a bunch of dirty dishes that had spilled so it squashed as we walked into room and tracked it in. Ventilation unit very noisy, sounded like water was running off and on all night. Kept me up and it would keep me from staying here again. Elevators slow and only one person working front desk at check out so it took 10 minutes to check out as they didn't plan for the mass exodus that was happening from a group departing. I couldn't do auto checkout as there was a problem with my credit card. Hotel could use some updating.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank be32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coopl3usf, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear be32,
Thank You for taking the time to comment on your stay. I have address your issues with the dirty dishes, delay in checking out and noisy venelation. Thank You for bringing these to my attention and hope you return to the hotel the next time your in the area.
Larry Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

My husband and I attended a wedding reception here on a Saturday in February of this year. We made reservations a couple months in advance. A room was not available upon our check in at 4:30 PM and was not available until about 8:00 PM. The young man at the desk did not offer any solutions, just appologized and said to check back later. My husband had dropped me off at the hotel entrance with our things because I was somewhat handicapped (in a walking boot). The guy at the desk did'nt even offer to have the concierge hold my luggage. Later that evening (about 10 PM) when we went to the bar, they had run out of many things and it wasn't until my third choice that I found something they weren't out of. I received a survey from the hotel and wrote them of my experience and asked them to contact me. They did not.
We did like the room. The bed was great. The breakfast was also very good.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corky24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coopl3usf, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Corky24,
Thank You for commenting on your recent stay while attending a wedding. I apologize no one has contacted you concerning the delay in getting into your room upon arrival. I will address this with my team to make sure someone is in touch with you. This is not our normal service level and we value you as a Embassy customer. Thank You and hope you will return to the hotel in the future.
Larry Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Marcos hotels
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Marcos
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Marcos
1.5 mi away
Courtyard San Marcos
Courtyard San Marcos
#6 of 32 in San Marcos
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn San Marcos
Holiday Inn San Marcos
#9 of 32 in San Marcos
44 reviews
1.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites
#8 of 32 in San Marcos
104 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites San Marcos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center
Address: 1001 E McCarty Ln, San Marcos, TX 78666-1080
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Marcos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Marcos
#1 Business Hotel in San Marcos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set just a short drive from the bustling center of downtown San Marcos, the Embassy Suites San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center is a contemporary and spacious hotel that offers more space, flexibility and freedom during your stay. Each of the San Marcos hotel’s 283 two-room suites provides a superb range of modern hotel amenities, including two flat-screen TVs and high-speed internet access. Whether you want to dine on a complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast or prepare one yourself with the suite’s mini refrigerator, microwave oven and coffeemaker, our hotel in San Marcos, TX is designed to give you more freedom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites San Marcos Hotel San Marcos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing