We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow; what a pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in San Marcos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wow; what a pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We have stayed in San Marcos several times before but this was a first time at the Embassy Suites in San Marcos. Wow; what a pleasant surprise for this weekend stay. The hotel, rooms and dining area are a cut above the normal Embassy Suites, especially for this "small" Texas town. The hotel has the ambiance of a 5-star hotel. The manager's reception was so-so (just snack food) but the hot breakfast and cooked-to-order omletts were a welcome treat. The suites are large, very comfortable and quite. Plenty of free parking, the convention center is connected to the hotel and the outlet malls are a half-mile down the road if you want to do shopping; and a couple of miles up the road if you are going tubing on the river. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: I would suggest getting a room on a higher floor. All rooms open to an interior atrium which might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coopl3usf, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Walter H,
Thank You for recently staying at my hotel and sharing your positive experience. I appreciate your comments and have shared these with the team. I hope on your next trip to San Marcos you stay with us again.
Thank You
Larry Cooper

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    230
    132
    79
    38
See reviews for
358
118
23
441
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

1. wonderful! check in was a breeze
2. Big rooms and very comfortable
3. hotel was busy but the staff was great and kept everything top notch
4 close to Austin and San Antonio for a day trips
I would come here just to vacation - it's close to all the fun spots

Room Tip: stay here for traveling to all San Antonio Austin area activities
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cbkb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coopl3usf, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Cbkb1,
Thank You for taking the time to share you positive experience at my hotel. I appreciate this and have shared with the team. We hope on your next trip to the area you will stay with us again.
Thank You

Larry Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Embassy Suites helped make our "girls getaway" weekend fun! We were greeted by a friendly staff, had excellent breakfasts both mornings, enjoyed the evening happy hour, and felt totally comfortable relaxing in the lobby and in our room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coopl3usf, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Survey,
I was pleased to read that the hotel made your girls weekend a sucess. I appreciate you sharing this with us and hope to see you soon in the hotel again.
Thank You

Larry Cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Combine, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Great hotel. Beds are comfortable. Having a suite is so much better than a regular hotel room. I highly recommend this particular hotel. Staff is friendly. Food is good. Rooms are clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Tonya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coopl3usf, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Tonya R,
Thank You for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. I appreciate you sharing how you enjoyed the accomidations and service at the property. This helps other when coming to stay with us that they will also enjoy the hotel.
I thank you and hope to see you soon again in the hotel.
Larry Cooper

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
420 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Large rooms, friendly attentive staff. The pool.was overran by screaming kids having a birthday party so relaxing in the hot tub was not an option. The breakfast was good. Overall a very nice place. Good location and price for what you get. The on-site dining was good, excellent filet.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roxiekay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coopl3usf, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Roxiekay,
Thank You for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. I was pleased that you enjoyed the hotel location and service. I have passd along to the kitchen your positive comments about the filet and breakfast. I hope on your next trip to the area you choose to stay with us again.
Thank You

Larry Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed at this location on the way home with the intention of staying a couple of days to do some shopping at the outlet center which is located very near by. i also had a conference with the company at the conference center located at the hotel. I had the family with me and they had an excellent time during our stay which lasted 3 days. i got a chance to try their inclusive complementary breakfast and was very satisfied with their overall service. i strongly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the vicinity of Austin who may be looking for an alternative to the big city traffic, as this is located in San Marcos and about an hour away from the central region of Texas.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Noe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coopl3usf, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Noe S,
Thank you for sharing your experience while staying at the hotel. I was pleased that you enjoyed the hotel location, service and conference center. I have shared these comments with the team and hope you return here again when in San Marcos.
Thank You

Larry Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
85 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

I picked this hotel solely for the purpose of being near San Marcos premium Outlet. The hotel provides flexible shuttle to outlet mall so we saved up a bit on taxi fare.

The clean room is very nice with a separate living room. Breakfast was pretty decent and i had enough to skip lunch. When I was there, there were many school children with parents staying for a match on Sat. Although it was crowded but I have no problem getting a table at breakfast. Some kids even played balls on the coridoor but it wasnt noisy or unbearable.

Overall I had a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coopl3usf, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Klene,
Thank You for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. I was pleased that you enjoyed the hotel while going to the outlet mall. I hope on your next trip you will stay with us again.
Thank You

Larry Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Marcos hotels
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Marcos
1.5 mi away
Courtyard San Marcos
Courtyard San Marcos
#5 of 31 in San Marcos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Marcos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites
#8 of 31 in San Marcos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn San Marcos
Holiday Inn San Marcos
#9 of 31 in San Marcos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites San Marcos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center
Address: 1001 E McCarty Ln, San Marcos, TX 78666-1080
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Marcos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Marcos
#1 Green Hotel in San Marcos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set just a short drive from the bustling center of downtown San Marcos, the Embassy Suites San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center is a contemporary and spacious hotel that offers more space, flexibility and freedom during your stay. Each of the San Marcos hotel’s 283 two-room suites provides a superb range of modern hotel amenities, including two flat-screen TVs and high-speed internet access. Whether you want to dine on a complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast or prepare one yourself with the suite’s mini refrigerator, microwave oven and coffeemaker, our hotel in San Marcos, TX is designed to give you more freedom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites San Marcos Hotel San Marcos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing