We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My girlfriends and I go there periodically for a very relaxing stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in San Marcos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Nixon, Texas, United States
1 review
“My girlfriends and I go there periodically for a very relaxing stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Everything is always very clean. The staff is always very nice. We enjoy sitting in the large open area around the bar playing cards and visiting. The drinks are always very good. We enjoy the manager's reception and breakfast.

Room Tip: We have stayed all over hotel - all rooms are good. This is not a place that you are looking for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tpugh648, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
We appreciate your review of your stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to your return. Thank you for your business. Tom Pugh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    223
    131
    77
    37
See reviews for
348
117
23
429
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown
Level Contributor
137 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

I was here for a conference in October. The rooms were nice, the conference facilities convenient and overall the facility as first rate. The rooms are tasteful and well appointed. The bathroom is laid out to be very efficient in the morning. Parking was easy too. The only complaint I can even think of is that there is only a few elevators, so at times, they were very busy and there was often a wait,

Location is easy access, next to the outlet mall. Nice to go shop after the conference. Other then the outlet, not much else to do. Conference facilities were really good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mickir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tpugh648, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
We appreciate your review from your stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your conference and shopping at the outlet mall. Thank you very much for your business and we look forward to serving you in the future. Tom Pugh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

I think we stayed during the non-business season so the Hotel is very nice and quiet. The staff is very nice and helpful and room is pretty clean. Overall a great hotel to stay for business and leisure.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tpugh648, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your review from your stay with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the hotel and service and we look forward to your staying with us again in the future. We appreciate your business. Tom Pugh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We are actually still here. Have overall enjoyed our stay, but got in this afternoon and very surprised that our room was so poorly cleaned. No attempt was made to pick up the living area or vacuum or anything. Disappointed...

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HistoryComesAlive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tpugh648, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us. I sincerely apologize that we were unable to meet expectations and based upon your review I am actively participating with our housekeeping staff to ensure this does not happen again. I hope that if your travels bring you back to the area that you will consider staying with us again. Thank you again; I appreciate your honest feedback. Tom Pugh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Too expensive. Free hot breakfast (made to order omlets, buffet, etc.), flat-screen tv's, hide-a-bed couch, spacious. Great conference facilities, except the bathroom sinks all spray water in your face. Room was cleaned with the same attention a teen would give (bed made, obvious areas vacuumed, but NO attention to detail - like a previous guest's dirty socks & underwear in the closet, and nothing in the bathroom had been wiped down). Friendly conference staff, but room cleaning staff moved all my stuff around and didn't speak English.

Room Tip: Don't get a room near the front entrance (south side of building) or elevators. Too noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBookLadysReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tpugh648, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I apologize for the lack of our attention to detail and we will follow up with our housekeeping staff to ensure this does not happen again. I hope that if your travels bring you back to the area that you will consider staying with us again. Thank you again; I appreciate your honest feedback. Tom Pugh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

We were here for a conference and the hotel was very clean and beautiful. Breakfast was wonderful with tons of selection! We were served lunch and it was excellent and the best food I had ever had at a conference! The staff was very friendly and helpful with directions and questions. The rooms were big and we liked the big sofa and separate area.
The only negatives were the faucets sprayed too much in the public restrooms. They spray in your face! Also we were told by the staff we could keep our food in the fridge till noon and when we went up to get it out of our room it was gone. We had also written a note on the fridge to please not clean it out yet. They gave us a couple free drinks from the Pepsi machine but everyone was still upset they did not honor our request as we were told earlier.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank misdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tpugh648, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you had a comfortable stay with us. I apologize for our not honoring your request to keep the food in the refrigerator...we will correct this with our team. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us on your next trip to San Marcos. Thank you, Tom Pugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

The location was the best feature of the hotel - it's literally a 2mins drive from the outlet malls! We came to shop so this was perfect for us. The suite was very spacious with a separate living room area and an arch door doorway leading to the separate bedroom. Both the living area and bedroom had flat screen TVs. The staff at reception were very nice. There was a spa and pool but we didn't use it. However, we did use the hot tub which was fantastic!

The one negative aspect of the hotel was that the breakfast was cold, poor quality, poor tasting and long lines/queues for the omelette (no lines for the buffet which included both 'hot' and cold items but not eggs). If you are coming to shop, then I would definitely recommend this hotel because the proximity to the outlet mall (as well as restaurants - the hotel has restaurants but we wanted to eat dinner outside) was just too perfect!

Room Tip: The higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tpugh648, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We appreciate your sharing your comments from your stay us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the hotel and will follow up on the issues you experienced with breakfast. I apologize that it was not to our normal high quality. Thank you for your business and we look forward to serving you again. Tom Pugh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Marcos hotels
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Marcos
1.5 mi away
Courtyard San Marcos
Courtyard San Marcos
#6 of 31 in San Marcos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Marcos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites
#8 of 31 in San Marcos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites San Marcos
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn San Marcos
Holiday Inn San Marcos
#9 of 31 in San Marcos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center
Address: 1001 E McCarty Ln, San Marcos, TX 78666-1080
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Marcos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Marcos
#1 Business Hotel in San Marcos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set just a short drive from the bustling center of downtown San Marcos, the Embassy Suites San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center is a contemporary and spacious hotel that offers more space, flexibility and freedom during your stay. Each of the San Marcos hotel’s 283 two-room suites provides a superb range of modern hotel amenities, including two flat-screen TVs and high-speed internet access. Whether you want to dine on a complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast or prepare one yourself with the suite’s mini refrigerator, microwave oven and coffeemaker, our hotel in San Marcos, TX is designed to give you more freedom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites San Marcos Hotel San Marcos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing