We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos Hotel Conference Center & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$93
Country Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wingate by Wyndham San Marcos(San Marcos)(Great Value!)
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Candlewood Suites(San Marcos)
$100
CandlewoodSuites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin San Marcos(San Marcos)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard by Marriott San Marcos(San Marcos)(Great Value!)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,241)
Filter reviews
1,241 results
Traveler rating
680
270
152
84
55
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
680
270
152
84
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevening receptionhappy hourhotel restaurantomelet stationmade to order breakfastbeautiful hoteloutlet mallbreakfast buffetrooms are largegreat place to stayshopping tripbusiness tripnew braunfelsthe breakfast areaparking lottexas state universityvalet
Filter
Updating list...
1,068 - 1,073 of 1,241 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Loved the check in staff. The gal that checked us in was nice, fast and friendly. She quickly got us into a room and asked our preferences instead of just giving us a room. The breakfast staff was nice that made the omelets and the housekeeping all said hello as I passed them in the hall. It's a little expensive but it was convenient with the convention hall in it and that's where our main destination was.

The only reason I rated it a 4 was because the first room given to us had the tv on and crickets on the floor. We immediately asked for a different one and it was quickly remedied.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TotallyMimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tpugh648, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos Hotel Conference Center & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

We appreciate your comments from your stay with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and the service provided by our front desk team. I apologize that your first room was not up to our normal high standards. We will correct that with our team. Thank you for your business and we look forward to serving you again. Tom Pugh, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 1 night while attending a scrapbook convention. I checked in late but I loved this hotel. It is in a location that is near shopping. But I was exhausted after having a full day of fun, so there was no need to leave. The staff were friendly and helpful. My room was really comfortable and quiet. I ended up picking up a burger from the restaurant downstairs in the lobby, then crashing in the super comfy bed that night. The next morning, I had breakfast and then rested a bit before it was time to check out.

My only issue was when I asked if they had a phone number to a cab. The girl at the desk gave me a card for a cab driver. BEWARE of this guy! He constantly lied about being on his way. When he finally did arrive, he had another passenger in the car and had to drop her off somewhere before he got me to the bus station 10 minutes before the bus arrived. I called him an hour before. He seems to be really overworked and lied to several customers who called his phone while i was in the car. I am sure the hotel is not aware of this cab drivers actions, but I think it would be helpful for yourself, that if you need a cab, have several numbers on hand.

But I would recommend this hotel to anyone. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LISA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tpugh648, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos Hotel Conference Center & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Thank you for your comments from your stay with us. We are happy to hear you had a very good stay with us. We appreciate your sharing the information about the problems you had with the cab company. We willl make changes to who we recommend. We look forward to seving you again in the future. Tom Pugh, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

After checking into the hotel, we ordered room service and the man who delivered our food made inappropriate comments to my 14 year old daughter. I later saw him at the front desk and wanted to confront him but thought better of it as he knew our room number. I should think an adult would have the decency to note make a pass at a minor. I am utterly dismayed and very disappointed.

My husband and children frequent your hotel regularly and this sort of behavior is beneath contempt. I sent an email to a manager and hope this incident is swiftly and adequately addressed as we enjoy your facility. I thought your standards of hospitality were more than adequate until yesterday.

Room Tip: Generally we request suites at the end of the hall-away from foot traffic and elevators.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tpugh648, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos Hotel Conference Center & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you for your comments and sharing this incident with us. We will follow up with our team immediately. If I can be of futher assistance to you, please contact me at tom.pugh@jqh.com. Tom Pugh, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Usually when you head off to a trade association conference, you expect the hotel to be a bit impersonal and lacking. However - in this instance, I was pleasantly surprised otherwise with a very clean, attractive, comfortable hotel experience with great customer service. And this hotel is not a new hotel - so you would have expected a little more wear and tear with the venue. That was surprisingly not the case either! Their building maintenance department is doing a great job inspecting and maintaining the property on a daily basis hand in hand with housekeeping services. I did not use the pool or spa amenities - but I heard these were excellent as well. The breakfast buffet each morning and then the manager's reception each evening were wonderful benefits for staying at this hotel as well; and both of these amenities were nicer than I expected. The small kitchenettes in each room allowed for you to cool food and beverages, to warm up food and to make a pot of coffee or cup of tea in the privacy of your own room. AND - location, location, location! Shopping minutes away and the city of San Marcos is beautiful as well with the river, college campus and restaurants galore.

Room Tip: Every room has a view over the foyer area. Every room is a good room here!!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blueigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tpugh648, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos Hotel Conference Center & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you for your comments from your stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit and will share this with our team. We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again in the future. Tom Pugh, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This a late review- stayed last year. Location by two outlets center & off the highway was very convenient. Room was very clean, room service was good. My husband loved the manager's happy hour... I loved the made to order breakfast ! The staff was very accommodating .

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zurdis11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tpugh648, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos Hotel Conference Center & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

Thank you for your comments from your stay with us last year. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit with us and we look forward to serving you again. Tom Pugh, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews