We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”

Bubba's Shrimp Palace
Ranked #3 of 6 Restaurants in San Leon
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dayton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome”
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Great place big shrimp and good catfish fried they way I like it. Carol our waitress was great. Will go back

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chasdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    47
    35
    23
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
276 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“This place is a WOW”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We recently had dinner at Bubba's after seeing it on The Daytripper PBS show. I had the seafood platter, and everything (shrimp, catfish, crawfish, oysters and sides) was GREAT. My wife had the grilled shrimp and they were fantastic. Great prices and a view of the bay. Not an easy place to find, but well worth the effort. We will be back next time we are in the area.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank genelary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
312 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Have the pleasure of eating La. & texas seafood for many years
and this restaurant ranks among the also-rans. The appetizers
and the main course I would rate equal to a fast food chain at
best. The food was extremely greasy and the grease needed
changing which added the poor quality of food. One of few
restaurants in this area I would never return too. The good
reviews have to be coming from people who do not have the
availibilty of great seafood as we do in this area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jhollingsworth11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri City, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“We will be back”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We spent Thanksgiving weekend in Galveston, but heard about Bubba's on the Food Network and wanted to see if what they said was true. The whole fried catfish was the best I have ever had at any restaurant. My husband had the endless shrimp and catfish combo and they were fried to perfection. Reasonable price, friendly wait staff and great food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TexasTravelers3423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corrales, New Mexico
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

What a great local seafood restaurant with eclectic atmosphere and direct water view. But you go to Bubba's for the food. Been a long time since I had such good fried oysters and the price for never ending shrimp cannot be beat. Friendly wait staff and reasonable prices make this a place you will want to experience if you are anywhere nearby. Try it. We will be back next trip.

Helpful?
Thank JimTritten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubba's Shrimp Palace also viewed

 
League City, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Bubba's Shrimp Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing