We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here.”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Juan
Reviewed February 9, 2010

Stayed here only because it was close to the Shrine of San Juan. The toilet in our room did not work, it would not flush and there was no water in the tank. After waiting almost and hour after reporting this and noone calling or coming to the room, we called the front desk and they told us they would move us to another room. We were moved and again the toilet in that room was also malfunctioning but we figure out how to jiggle the handle and get the tank to fill with water.

THIS WAS NOT THE WORSE PART. Around midnight we were all sound asleep (3 single women) when all of a sudden the door to our room opens (good thing we had the safety bar in place). We are startled awake and the person trying to open the door keeps trying to force it open. We are yelling and screaming and one of us calls the front desk and ask them to call the police, etc. The people leave and we look out the window and there are 4 men walking away. Ten minutes later we have not heard from the front desk and noone has come to our room to check on us. We call the front desk and are told they had given our room key to these individuals who had just checked in by mistake. The clerk who had switched our room earlier and given us the key to the new room had failed to register the room as occupied. That is why the door actually opened even though we had it locked. Needless to say, we were unable to get back to sleep and it was very traumatic. All we could think was, we are so close to the border this might be drug related and they had the wrong room, etc.

To this day no one ever called us to apologize or offer us a refund of any kind. We were told the Manager, Myra Pereira would call us, but she never did.

Would not recommend this place at all. There are alot better places to stay in the McAllen area that are not that far from the Shrine.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank lilfalgil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene P, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

I am sorry that you had a horrible experience. We are under new management and are currently upgrading in both customer service and room quality. We would love an opportunity to undo your bad experience. . Please call the hotel and ask for Rene Palacios so that you can give us another opportunity so that you may experience a truly pleasureable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (11)
There are newer reviews for Rodeway Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 11 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2009

Breakfast and Happy Hour was good. Staff was friendly. Our rooms was dirty, I wear white socks and they were black when we left. The toilet needed repair as it would flush every five minutes or so. The bed sheets were worn very thin you could see through them. Some bug bit me on the back of my Right leg and two spots on my Left leg while I was sleeping, also my wife got bit on her back. We believe the bits came from bed bugs. Found a dead bug on the floor beside the bed. The rooms need to be fumigated and cleaned.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Frediowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene P, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

I am sorry that you had a horrible experience. We are under new management and are currently upgrading in both customer service and room quality. We would love an opportunity to undo your bad experience. . Please call the hotel and ask for Rene Palacios so that you can give us another opportunity so that you may experience a truly pleasureable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Veronica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viajante72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leo_C07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene P, Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.8 mi away
Texas Inn & Suites
Texas Inn & Suites
#9 of 12 in Pharr
23 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 12 in Pharr
72 reviews
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 12 in Pharr
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Alamo - McAllen East
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites McAllen
4.7 mi away
Super 8 - Mcallen/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 112 W Expressway 83, San Juan, TX 78589-3642 (Formerly San Juan Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Juan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range: $49 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Rodeway Inn San Juan in San Juan, Texas. We are conveniently located off of Expressway 83. We are also located right across the Basilica of Our Lady of San Juan Del Valle National Shrine. This Motel has many Restaurants, Attractions and Shopping nearby. Our friendly staff is waiting to accommodate your lodging needs. We provide a complimentary Full Hot South Texas Breakfast, Free WiFi , many more in room amenities. We also have weekly and monthly rates available. We look forward to seeing you at the San Juan Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn San Juan Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing