We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites San Benito
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in San Benito
Alice, Texas
Level Contributor
129 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“My stay”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed the night here on the way to Schlitterbahn SPI. Clean and comfortable room. King size bed was comfortable. Great selection of tv channels. Room had microwave and fridge. Only complaint is that you can hear people going up the stairs at night. Convenience store next to property as well. Great pool but the hot tub wasnt hot.

Room Tip: Get a room upstairs, cause at night you can hear them go up and down, and hear all their conversatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cds72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    15
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
7
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Room was clean, well furnished, quiet. Pool was nice, properly kept up. The property appears to be fairly new. Bed was firmer than I like, but comfortable. Good place to stay for the price. San Benito isn't exactly a tourist spot, so be aware that its a poor neighborhood. The breakfast wasn't anything to write home about, coffee was not great, but for the price you can't complain, just get your coffee at the corner store instead.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

After being stranded by a motel 6 40 minutes away, we found this hotel and stopped to see if they had any rooms available. It was around midnight, so we had to use the alarm/side window. We were greeted by a very friendly lady who much to our delight informed us they did have a room. She was also quick to notify us that it was a smoking suite, but being a former smoker this did not bother me one bit. I was really just glad she was quick to provide info that might affect our decision. We got an excellent rate, and check in was speedy and efficient. We were directed to our room and found it to be very clean, and extremely spaceous. There was not only a mini fridge, but a full sized one as well. The shower was clean, as were the sitting rooms and the bedroom. Channel selections were good, and the a/c units worked well.
Two issues of sort, are really just things to be noted, and can happen almost anywhere. One, the room was very stuffy and warm when we walked in, but this is to save energy by leaving the units off. Also, the upstairs room didn't seem to stop stomping on the ceiling until about 3 and started up again at around 8. Do yourself a favor and get an upstairs room to avoid this.

Either way, this was such a nice find I definitely recommend this place!

Room Tip: Upstairs is the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bxb4784f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Easily located off the highway. Rooms clean. Property quiet even though my room was close to the pool and there were many children. Breakfast bar about what you expect.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnforcerFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alottame2009
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2009

We stayed for a week with a whole softball team.Henry and his staff were great the rooms were clean the price was good and the girls loved the Texas shaped waffles..We would definantly stay here again and recommend it to anyone traveling to Harlingen , it is worth the short 5 mile drive to San Benito.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alottame2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
185 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2007

Stayed here for 4 days while visiting family in San Benito. Nothing special, but disappointed. Was hoping to escape the Rio Grande Valley routine but couldn't. Good: The rooms were clean and comfortable. No problems with the high speed internet. Staff: maid staff was good, front desk staff was hit or miss. Half the time friendly, the other half it seemed as if they didn't care. Personal appearances of the staff were dependent on who was at the desk....50/50. No uniformity. Facilities: Nice pool. Advertised to have a fitness center, but when I asked, was told that there was problems with the room/lock and that it was closed. Breakfast: Clean, very continental (wrapped up streudels, muffins, etc.) and some fresh fruit. No waffle iron (but did have frozen Eggos and a toaster.) While I never felt unsafe, I was particularly concerned about my vehicle. There were a couple of cars that had flat tires in the parking spots and I wondered if this was vandalism or just bad tires. The front desk never asked for my license plate number, which I assumed that they did not do roving patrols of the parking lot periodically or care if something happened to my car. For some reason, during all 4 of my days there, there was always a minivan parked underneath the "check in" overhang. Cars were parked in the lot at random angles and in imaginary parking spaces. Odd. Dont use mapquest.com to get directions...they use an incorrect 151 Ebony St....that puts you near the high school and Williams Road. The location was excellent though...right on the main street (Sam Houston) and to the south of 77/83. Very easily to get to from the expressway. Overall: location good, hotel OK. While I would love to pump my money into the San Benito economy, I think I would stay in future visits at the Country Inn and Suites in Harlingen.

  • Liked — Location to downtown San Benito
  • Disliked — Poor parking enforcement/parking security
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mjacostausmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
114 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2003

Large, comfortable rooms, very responsive and helpful staff, great value for the price. If you are traveling through Harlingen, consider staying here instead. Fresh waffles are a part of the complimentary breakfast.

Helpful?
2 Thank Grotshops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Benito
3.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Benito / Harlingen
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Harlingen
10.0 mi away
Los Fresnos Inn & Suites
Los Fresnos Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Los Fresnos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn  Harlingen
4.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harlingen
9.4 mi away
Deluxe 6 Inn & Suites
Deluxe 6 Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Olmito
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites San Benito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites San Benito

Property: Americas Best Value Inn & Suites San Benito
Address: 175 W Expressway 83, San Benito, TX 78586-2901 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Garden Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > San Benito
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in San Benito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites San Benito 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites San Benito offers the most value for your money when staying for business, pleasure, or just passing through. We offer clean spacious rooms, a 24-hour front desk, free coffee in lobby, free deluxe continental breakfast, and free Wi-Fi throughout the property. All guest rooms include microwave, mini-fridge, hairdryer, 37 inch flat panel cable TV, HBO, ESPN, iron, ironing board, and alarm clock. Take advantage of our extremely comfortable beds and relax while saving money year-round with our Kids Stay Free Policy (11 and under in parent's room). For your convenience our hotel offers both smoking and non-smoking rooms. Pets are welcome, restrictions and charges apply. We are located off West Expressway 83 at S. Sam Houston Boulevard, and are near to local attractions such as San Benito Museum, Texas Conjunto Music Hall and Valley Race Park Inc. Americas Best Value Inn and Suites San Benito is your best choice within the southeast region of Texas. We offer ideal accommodations and location whether you are in town for sightseeing, music or food festivals, or simply passing through on your way to Corpus Christi. At Americas Best Value Inn and Suites San Benito our goal is to provide our guests a great experience, not just a place to stay. Americas Best Value Inn and Suites San Benito, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites San Benito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Benito
San Benito Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing