We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TERRIBLE!!!!!”
Review of Clarion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Hotel
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in San Angelo
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We arranged for a block of rooms MONTHS in advance for an upcoming wedding. We were told they were doing some upgrading...new TV's etc. and things would be finish well before that. My husband and I booked a suite. Everyone was coming for all over the country and was excited to swim and get together for this big event. It was 105 degrees when we landed. Folks booked between 3 and 6 days at this hotel. The first disappointment is that the pool was closed and under construction. No warning, no phone call that it wasn't as promised just the closed pool for the hotel full of our guests. Our room was dingy. Burn marks in the bedspread, blanket smelled and a huge old tube TV that had a high pitched sound. One evening we asked for an extra blanket and pillows for the hide-a-bed and they gave us a dirty bedspread and pillows with no pillow cases. Bathroom counter hadn't been wiped in a long time. Surfaces in room were dirty as were the coffee cups. Bed was very uncomfortable.
I asked the manager about the pool and she said " it was open last week and because of the drought they had to close it." That made no sense! She was short with me and offered no apology. Breakfast wasn't anything to brag about either. Please don't waste your time! Wedding was beautiful but the event was damped by this hotel experience.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elisen5158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
There are newer reviews for Clarion Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 152 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

I am presently staying at the Clarion Hotel in San Angelo, Texas and in a word, I would say the hotel is average. The outside of the building is kind of run down as is the lobby of the hotel. The staff that I interacted with were nice. The rooms were nicer than the outside of the building and the lobby. The walls are rather thin, I can clearly hear conversations next door and their TV. I generally stay at the Hampton Inn but, this place will do in a pinch.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmerhand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here 5 nights at the end of April 2013. The last time I was in San Angelo I stayed at the La Quinta & I can say without a doubt this hotel is a million times better! There are a few things this hotel could do to improve, but overall it is a good value. The hotel is a little bit dated & seemed damp - just older & the furniture, bathroom fixtures, carpets, etc are well worn - but I found it clean & the beds were comfortable. The location is downtown - which had pros & cons - it's close to boutiques & the river but a little bit away from the mall, restaurants, etc. of course, San Angelo isn't that big so it's a quick drive...just really not much within walking distance. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gecko831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

This hotel has been nice but now it's even better than before. The hotel has new Sleep Number beds that are always great. They breakfast is pretty good and now they are getting the restaurant built up now and the place will be pretty well a self contained facility. You need to try it and see for yourselves how nice it is. The location is Pretty good to as it is merely a mile from San Angelos Historic Downtown!!

Room Tip: Ask for your lowest available rate when you get to the checkin!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaye22_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Predictable accommodations from the Choice Group of hotels. San Angelo is experiencing an oil boom and hotel rooms are difficult to find. The Clarion offers a safe place to stay, close to downtown overlooking the Concho River. Surfaces in the room (notably the desk top) are not well cleaned. Coffee cups and drinking glasses were not refreshed during a 3 night stay but styrofoam cups are available in the lobby. (since surfaces weren't clean I questioned the cleanliness of the cups and glasses anyway) Bonus - rooms have sleep number beds which were quite comfortable. For the price in San Angelo it's a good choice. It's also within walking distance of a unique downtown with quaint shops and eating establishments. If you stayed on the outskirts of town you'd miss the fun downtown.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerri51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Very good value hotel. Has everything you need, clean and recently renovated. Nice staff. Has a small lounge for cocktails. Has a workout room for cardio. Centrally located in San Angelo.................................... .......

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Well situated near downtown and the historic Ft. Concho and the riverwalk as well as the visitors center. The value for the price is very good, the staff for the hotel was very knowledgeable, courteous, and helpful. The restaurant inside the hotel is another story! Don' t waste your time or money trying to go there, breakfast is below average, and dinner is overpriced for the very few items on the menu, and the service is some of the worst I've ever encountered at any hotel or restaurant! Parking is well lit and ample as is the ease of access to the property. They have the "sleep number" beds in all the rooms, but even after staying there for 2 weeks I could never get mine to where it was really comfortable enough to get a decent nights rest on. Overall, not a bad place to stay, and I'm kind of picky about hotels and their pricing vs value. Hope this helps some of you!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Angelo hotels
0.2 mi away
Pearl on the Concho at Jameson Inn
1.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites San Angelo
4.5 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Angelo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham San Angelo
4.0 mi away
WoodSpring Suites San Angelo
WoodSpring Suites San Angelo
#14 of 32 in San Angelo
41 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham San Angelo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel

Address: 441 Rio Concho Dr, San Angelo, TX 76903-5527 (Formerly San Angelo Inn & Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Angelo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in San Angelo
Price Range: $48 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This business-friendly hotel located in San Angelo is located blocks from historic downtown San Angelo and the Concho River. Our LED televisions come with premium cable/satellite channels. Guestrooms also feature refrigerators, microwaves, air conditioning, iron/ironing board, hairdryers, and coffee/tea makers. In addition to complimentary parking, The Clarion Hotel San Angelo provides complimentary wireless Internet access, complimentary hot breakfast buffet, a business center with wired Internet access, and conference/meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Angelo Inn And Conference Center
San Angelo Hotel San Angelo
Holiday Inn San Angelo
San Angelo Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing