We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Fort Ever!!”
Review of Fort Concho

Fort Concho
Ranked #3 of 26 things to do in San Angelo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
San Angelo, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Best Fort Ever!!”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

WOW!! This place is extraordinary!!! The best preserved fort in the country. There is so much history here and so many people that are willing to share their knowledge. If you can visit on a day that has any type of the re-enactments being done it adds even more.
BE SURE TO TAKE THE TIME TO VISIT FORT CONCHO. If you are not a history buff now you will be closer to being one after you spend some time here.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SanAngeloHI_GM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    61
    12
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Angelo, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best preserved Frontier Fort”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

This has got to be probably the best preserved frontier fort in the country. The hosts that great you are friendly, and can take you on guided tours, or you can stroll the grounds alone. Most of the original buildings are intact or have been rebuilt. A must stop for visitors wanting to know more about the history of the west.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank 75bobz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
106 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A bit of the old West”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Nicely restored fort with knowledgeable, friendly staff. We did not try it, but one can stay overnight in the Officers' Quarters.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank hrs44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Frontier Fort is tops!”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Ft. Concho is really educational with many fun things throughout the year. It takes you back in time and for me I appreciate learning all about it and being grateful we live in a bit more civilized time. Christmas is the best time at Old Fort Concho. Wonderful things to see, activities and lots of yummies!! Especially the kettle korn!!!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank sunsetsandroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Preserved Frontier Fort in the USA”
Reviewed April 19, 2012

I love Ft. Concho. I drive by the fort almost daily on my way home. My mom worked there years ago so I have been there many times.The fort always has activities and family fun going on. Lots of educational programs. Walking the grounds REALLY takes you back in time to right after the Civil War when the US built frontier forts to "protect" citizens from the Indians. Each year, Christmas at Old Fort Concho is THE place to be. Google it and try to get it on the fun. Lots of sutlers, varied educational programs, vendors of all kinds and just a lot of fun!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank traveler17711812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fort Concho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing