We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable and tasty dinner.”

Fuentes Cafe Downtown
Ranked #13 of 251 Restaurants in San Angelo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Reviewed May 18, 2018

Yes...I recommend them for dinner. The food was good. The staff was friendly. The only reason they aren't getting a 5 is that my order was totally messed up. They did attempt to fix it and almost got it right. I would eat there again though...so I would include them in your plans for dinner.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank musicwithdenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOHN F, Owner at Fuentes Cafe Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2018

Thank you for the 4 stars! I'm sorry that we got your order wrong, we hope you give us another try so you can recieve the 5 star service we know we can give. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 122 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2018 via mobile

Fajita steak burritos are so flavorful! The salsa tastes fresh and just enough spice. Very reasonable prices here. Try the strawberry margarita!

Date of visit: May 2018
1  Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOHN F, Owner at Fuentes Cafe Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2018

Thank you for the 5 stars and kind words! We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us, We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2018 via mobile

We ordered nachos to share. Asked for beef and chicken fajitas to go on top, asked for sour cream and some guacamole extra. We got 3 small scoops the size of a small ketchup cup and paid 3.95 for that. They charged for sour cream in another small ketchup cup and that was 75 cents. The nachos were bland with too many peppers and onions and hardly any chips. The meat was bland. In the end we paid for bland nachos. Ticket was about 24.00 with two teas. Very disappointed!!

Lastly walked on the side of the building to get to our car and smelled trashcans with employees smoking next to it and had to endure cigarette smoke.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank GinKay71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOHN F, Owner at Fuentes Cafe Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2018

Hello GinKay71,

It is disappointing that we could not wow you during your visit with us as we do strive to provide our customers with high quality, inventive meals that will leave your taste buds wishing for more! We do encourage all guests to express all food concerns to their server while still dining, as we would be happy to accommodate where we see fit. We thank you for your feedback and hope that you will give us another try soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2018 via mobile

We travel to San Angelo frequently and this is one of our go to restaurants. The food is served hot, the service is friendly and you can go with a group and usually have no problem getting a table. If you expect Tex Mex, you won't be disappointed.

Date of visit: February 2018
3  Thank txmomofjandr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOHN F, Owner at Fuentes Cafe Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2018

Thank you for the 4 stars! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2018

We all have gone through life experiencing things that are truly great, what is amazing about these types of places is they don't have to toot their horn, with quiet confidence and wonderful food, their merits stand on their own, no need to have flashy signs, huge volumes of customers, vast parking lots, and massed produced food. Fuentes Downtown is one such place, 5-star food and customer service, yet the owners and workers are super friendly and not full of themselves. The ambience in the restaurant is very pleasing, set right in the heart of downtown San Angelo, a very warm and inviting place. And the owners and managers greet everyone warmly, unlike some downtown historic eating establishments where the owner greets the select few warmly, yet completely ignores the rest. I write this review with all sincerity, I don't even know the owners, nor they me, I'm sure you have come across many a TripAdvisor review where you know for certain that most of the reviews are contrived, the owners asking their friends to write superlative reviews after having read a negative review to make it appear as though all is well, but it is fake news, indeed. And I'm sure it is true with the number 1 listing in San Angelo right down to the cellar dwellers, although I'm sure the number 1 is a lot more savvy about doing something like this! Fuentes, my friends, is so refreshing because it is very authentic, real, genuine, not into itself, what you see is what you get, and above all, their food is delicious! Kudos to Fuentes for what they stand for, the best of the best, without having to shout it out on the moutaintop!

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
6  Thank TXtimessquare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOHN F, Owner at Fuentes Cafe Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2018

Thank you for the 5 stars and the very kind words. We've worked very hard to stay open these 34 years and when ever some praises your good work, the feeling is quite satisfying . We hope you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fuentes Cafe Downtown also viewed

 

Been to Fuentes Cafe Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing