We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Texas style BBQ”

Packsaddle Bar-B-Que
Ranked #45 of 223 Restaurants in San Angelo
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Midland
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Real Texas style BBQ”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Kinda off the beaten path but on recommendation of my hotel staff it was well worth the short trip on the edge of town!
Small, rustic and full of that smokey smell!! Yummy!!
I had the combo plate of sausage and brisket. The sausage was flavorful with just the right kick, the brisket was tender and perfect. I loved the sauce they use. The potatoe salad and beans were yummy.
Had to go back before leaving town!
I did take out but the staff was so friendly and apparently a lot of the diners were local.
The serving was more than enough and the price is hard to beat! Monday is a dollar off so the price before taxes was less than 7.00,
I noticed they had beer also.
You gotta try this place if you like simple Texas Q!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susieq1047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    20
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not for Me”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We heard great things about this place so my husband and I decided to give it a try. However, when we got there and sat down, we noticed that the place was so dirty and the table and walls and floor were splattered with grime and the ceiling was missing tiles with insulation hanging down that it made me wonder about the cleanliness of the kitchen. Additionally, all of the plates and drink containers were disposable; only the utensils were washable. When we got the food, I couldn't even finish it, not because of the quanity, but because of the yuck taste. Needless to say, I won't be going back there.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wish2Fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quick, casual, friendly and delicious!”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We eat at Packsaddle at least once a month. They have the best fried catfish in town, and wonderful chopped brisket sandwiches and ribs. You sit where you want, and there's an overflow closed-in patio for when the main building is full. It's out near the lake and across the street from a major church, so it does a brisk business, particularly on Sunday around lunchtime. Prices are reasonable, service is quick, and the atmosphere is casual.

The only even mildly negative thing I have to say is that, as a restaurant that's been around for awhile, the furniture shows its age. I've sat in more comfortable booths. Oh, and the french fries are okay, but not exceptional.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“excellent menu choices”
Reviewed February 28, 2012

The locals flock here..mainly for the good bbq, but their catfish is really good...also steak fingers, beans and potato salad , coleslaw is good..but if you go be sure and order their homemade vanilla ice cream, the peach cobbler is awesome,,
the decor is license plates, and Nascar memorbilia...
the waitresses are really nice, and usually bring your food out within 15 min of ordering..
also pick up is always an option. They get crowded on evening weekends when everyone is leaving the lake from a day of boating & swimming..
booths and tables for sitting, also a screened in back porch during the summer months..a good family atmosphere with a couple of tv's to watch car racing!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank MERRITT Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great Bar B Q, Burgers and Catfish!”
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Enjoy the very relaxed atmosphere while dining on superb food. If you are a NASCAR fan you will appreciate the decor.

Helpful?
Thank Mikala B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Packsaddle Bar-B-Que also viewed

 

Been to Packsaddle Bar-B-Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing