We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the price”

Stagecoach Inn Motel & Conference Center
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stagecoach Inn Motel & Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Salado
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Stagecoach Inn. We took the advice of others and asked for a room facing the pool. The staff was friendly and allowed us to choose our room. Our room was recently rennovated and was clean and quiet, and although it did not have many frills, it did have soap, shampoo, a hair dryer and a small coffee maker. For the price, we were very satisfied. It backs up to Main Street which was very convenient for shopping. We did not eat at the Inn, but rather asked the shop owners where they ate. They told us to go across the freeway to Johnny's Steaks and Bar-B-Q which was wonderful. Do not hesitate to order a steak although they also serve barbeque. Ours came out excellent (medium rare). It is reasonably priced and was well worth the 3 minute drive. We will be staying at the Stagecoach Inn again and eating at Johnny's Steaks and Bar-B-Q on our next trip to Salado.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side of the pool. The other side is the freeway which is quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgocdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 84 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our experience at the Stagecoach Inn. If possible, ask for a room away from the highway as the noise can be disturbing. We were blessed with a room overlooking the pool which had a nice view and balcony. Other rooms had balconies overlooking the parking lot which we would not have enjoyed. There is a lovely breakfast cafe with a buffet and delicious meals which we recommend. The hotel is also at the end of main street which makes for easy walking access to the shops along main that are a great attraction for the city. After 2 days in Salado we had exhausted antiquing and other shopping pursuits so we would likely not have enjoyed staying longer than that, but this town and hotel made for a wonderful weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ljrodriguez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Gave one star because I didn't want anyone to think I overlooked the rating; otherwise, I would have given zero stars!!

The Stagecoach Inn is responsible for the leasing of 3-bedroom condiminiums by the golf course. Don't know who owns them, but certainly Stagecoach manages them, whether they have any ownership in them or not. Our group has stayed in these condos several times, and I have decided I will not be one of those going back. Our group was terribly disappointed to have experienced the following:
1. We were given the wrong keys, drove 5 cars in a caravan to the condo, only to find the keys didn't work. Called numerous times to get someone to answer, hoping they would say there was either a trick to use the key or that they had given us the wrong condo number. No one ever bothered to answer the phone at the front desk!!!!! One of us had to finally drive all the way back to the office which is on the other side of town since no one would pick up the phone at 4:00 in the afternoon. Turns out, it was the right condo, the wrong key.
2. The maps they give to the condos are horrible. Although we have complained about them before, they have not changed their maps.
3. The guestbooks showed other people had complained about the lack of maintenance on the condo, but again, apparently nothing is done about that. The toilet in the half bath leaks water into the bowl from the tank so that the toilet runs constantly. We had to turn the water off.
4. The upstairs toilet did not flush properly. After turning off the water to that toilet, we plunged it good and then turned the water back on. We found it odd that there was a plunger beside the toilet, indicating this was not the first time the toilet had issues. We couldn't really trust it while we were there, which left us with one bathroom downstairs inside the master bedroom.
5. The microwave over the stove didn't work. When we noticed a much smaller one on the counter, we decided that was the reason it was there...the big one that would hold a reasonable sized dish was broken, with no sign to indicate such, nothing.
6. The hot and cold water were reversed in the upstairs bathroom sink, and one of the sinks dripped water.
7. The icemaker in the freezer compartment didn't work. When we arrived, we figured it was because the water was not turned on so we moved the fridge out and turned on the water to the icemaker. However, we later found water all inside the refrigerator on the food and the shelves..a lot of water, so we had to turn the water to the icemaker off. We realized that was why it was turned off...because it leaked somehow. Luckily, we had one measly bag of ice or we would have had to go to town once again to pick up ice. There was no warning on the refrigerator. (It smelled, anyway)
8. The dishes in the cabinet were literally full of water. We had to pull them out to dry them. It was as if someone took them out of the dishwasher early because the "resume wash" button was lit on the dishwasher (and it was FULL of dirty dishes). So before we could even eat, we had to wash dishes by hand.
9. The coffee maker dripped so slowly that we could not serve several people coffee at once. I'm not sure that it ever finished dripping completely, but we did manage to get maybe three cups of coffee out of it over a period of 30 - 45 minutes.
10. Two of the bathroom doors didn't properly lock.
11. The screen was missing from the sliding glass door.
12. The toilet paper was perhaps the cheapest I have ever used in my life. It was very thin. The soap was awful, so thank heavens, we mostly brought our own.

Generally, this is the most unkempt, poorly maintained property and does not deserve one star. The condo was about $375 for one night, and it was actually worth less than a former Motel 6 turned "Rooms for Rent." Seriously. I doubt that anyone in our group will go back, certainly I will not. Unfortunately, the town's retail, which appears to have fallen off, will suffer if visitors have such lowly choices of rooms.

Room Tip: don't do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank junebugsisterhood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Spent the weekend in Salado with my husband. Thought we would try something new and soak up some local flavor. Room was adequate, clean, semi-quiet. We had a second floor room overlooking the pool. A plus was the screen door and table & chairs on the medium sized balcony. Recently remodeled bathroom - good water pressure in the shower. Bring your own toiletries - cheap soap and shampoo. Room smelled a tad bit musty - but I travel with a candle so that was okay! TV was a small, old school set - but the free in-room WiFi more than made up for this!

Would I stay here again? No. Next time, I'm going to try either a B&B OR the newish Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank KLP0028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This actual former stagecoach stop along Salado Creek is sprawling and historic, but well past its prime. The rooms are musty and suffer from peeling wallpaper, skimpy towels, wood-chip tissues. There is a coffee pot in the room, but bring your own coffee if you don't care for prepackaged pods. Nice to walk the grounds, though, and fun to have a drink in the saloon (sadly, no draft beer) and imagine the place when Sam Houston slept here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

My room had been renovated, clean and was decent. The staff were very friendly and helpful with any local information we asked for. The TV remote didn't work, but maintenance quickly brought another one when we notified the front desk. Also when I asked for an extra blanket for my elderly mother in law, they brought one promply. I would stay again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AzaleaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

My husband and I both came here as kids and we are continuing the tradition with our son. We usually try and come for my husband's birthday weekend and we weren't disappointed this trip as usual. If you are looking for a 5-star hotel with all the bells and whistles, this isn't the place for you. If you are looking for a nostalgic, simpler way of travel this fits the bill. The rooms aren't fancy, but they are clean and serve their purpose. Take a cooler with your drinks/snacks and enjoy the pool, go play in the creek, walk the town with its many galleries, etc. We love it here and hope it stays around for a very long time!

Room Tip: Get a room facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salado hotels
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Salado-Belton
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Salado
Days Inn Salado
#2 of 3 in Salado
205 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Creek
Inn on the Creek
#1 of 12 in Salado
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inn at Salado
Inn at Salado
#5 of 12 in Salado
51 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baines House Inn & Gallery
2.7 mi away
Yellow House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stagecoach Inn Motel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stagecoach Inn Motel & Conference Center

Address: 401 S. Stagecoach Drive, Salado, TX 76571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Salado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Salado
Price Range: $70 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stagecoach Inn Motel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is centrally located right off exit 284 off I-35, just minutes away from the Bell County Expo Center, Killeen-Fort Hood International Airport, Scott and White, and Fort Hood. If shopping is your pleasure, the antiques, fine art, jewelry and shopping will keep you busy while in our Village.Our conference center offers over 5000 square feet of meeting space. We offer full service catering menu along with audio visual for all your meeting needs. Wireless Internet is available for our guest while they stay at our Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Stagecoach Inn Motel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stagecoach Inn Motel And Conference Center
Stagecoach Inn Hotel Salado
Stagecoach Hotel Salado
Stagecoach Motel Salado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing