We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cant go to Texas without Great BBQ!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Johnny's Steaks & Bar-Be-Que

Johnny's Steaks & Bar-Be-Que
Ranked #3 of 34 Restaurants in Salado
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
257 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Cant go to Texas without Great BBQ!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Johnny's BBQ lived up to my expectations of BBQ! Had the rib sampler (little bit of everything,) My friend had the sausage. Food was really good, great sides, free refills, very attentive staff and very clean inside. Plenty of parking outside for rigs too.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OC-RaiderFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    69
    28
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“It's Just OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

We have eaten a Johnny's several times. The food is pretty good but not outstanding. The time waiting for your order is extreme and the service is lousy at best. The cost is another matter, the price paid was at one time reasonable for what was served but as of late they have raised the prices above what the meal is worth. If a problem arises about the food or service, don't expect any relief from management, They really don't care about a problem because most of their business is pass thru business. I just can't honestly recommend Johnny's, sorry.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rager999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
147 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good outside venue with descent food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Went to a hosted get together in the outdoor area. Would have expected them to take credit cards and not just cash at the bar. Parking was minimal, and mostly on the street or arous the corner. Food was fairly good, the brisket was moist, with a good bark and not tough. Sides were fine. They seem to have a lot of events, and I would recommend for that, but cannot comment on the restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripsf0rfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Stopped by here last night on the way home. Had a combo sandwich. Very good. The only complaint i have was the brisket on my sandwich had a lot of fat on It. The meat though was very good. The steaks looked awesome and smelled great will be back for sure to try one out.

Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleburne, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Expected Better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

We arranged a family gathering here because it was centrally located between San Marcos and Cleburne. First off, I hate going to a restaurant where you order from a counter and they treat everyone like they have been there before. You ask a question about the menu and they just point. Maybe that didn't help, but none of us, 7 in all, enjoyed our food for reasons too numerous to mention. From tough brisket to shriveled-up chicken fried steak, nothing was very good -- except the bucket of Shiner beer. Sounds like we should have had the onion rings although you can't make a meal out of that. Next time we go to Salado, we'll be looking elsewhere to eat. (Also, if you don't like Johnny Football, you'll need to cover your eyes or don't go. It's an Aggie mini-museum.)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank onjerrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnny's Steaks & Bar-Be-Que also viewed

 

Been to Johnny's Steaks & Bar-Be-Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing