We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place!”
Review of The Range

The Range
Ranked #7 of 34 Restaurants in Salado
Price range: $14 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: The Range is an Elegant eatery offering some of the finest dining in Texas. Utilizing fresh local ingredients. Our culinary team creates and serves delicious, adventurous food. Attention to detail is the cornerstone of our service and food quality. Allow our team to welcome you as our guest.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great little place!”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

While pricey, it was a fantastic meal. Had the grilled center cut filet and scalloped potatos, great! kept getting the pork tenderloin from my wife and the corn pudding was fantastic!! Usually I don't get dessert but the food was so good I had to...IT was the right decision. The bread pudding was incredible! Very light and fluffy. Drawbacks-service was slow, not bad, just slow. Pricey. Also the special changed 3 times that night, per the other guests that were there. Would definatly recommend this place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dtfixr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dave_therange, Owner at The Range, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dtfixr,

First off thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback with TripAdvisor. We very much appreciate your feedback. We are thrilled that you and your wife enjoyed the food so much that it inspired your decision for dessert. I am sorry to learn that your service was slow and will address this with our entire team and work to improve our efficiency. Again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We certainly will look forward to serving you again.
Respectfully,
Dave Hermann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    27
    10
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Went for a four year anniversary and from reservation to dinner it was a awesome time. Great food in a charming, historical environment. After an awesome meal we asked about the history and was offered a tour around the home with a knowledgable guide. I recommend fully!

Helpful?
1 Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dave_therange, Owner at The Range, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Trey,
We are thrilled that you had such an amazing experience at The Range. We very much appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review on Trip Advisor. I am especially proud of our team for taking time to tour you around the historic building. Thanks again and we will look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Respectfully,
Dave Hermann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“grown-ups' evening out”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I absolutely love the range. it's the only place in the area that my husband and I reserve for ourselves. I don't even know if they have a kids' menu but it has just never felt to me like a place where kids would be comfortable. it is such a lovely, quiet place with a very adult menu; we go there a few times a year, just us, and the food & ambience are always wonderful!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank kmlcnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dave_therange, Owner at The Range, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time out of your busy schedule to leave us a review on TripAdvisor. We very much appreciate the kind words and feedback. We definitely do indeed offer children selections and have a separate menu available for children. With that said, we are thrilled you have found a comfortable place to enjoy your "grown-ups' evening out". That is fantastic and we will look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Respectfully,
Dave Hermann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“not impressed”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I expected much better for the price! The food was not hot and didn't taste fresh, not sure if it wasn't microwaved to warm it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank kathleen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Salado Surprise!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The service, The presentation, The delicious food - all perfectly set for a wonderful evening. Service was attentive, professional and sprinked with southern charm. Each course was described and presented with falir and meeting Chef William was the perfect ending to a wonderful meal. Be sure to ask those working about their personal ghost stories - FASCINATING and FUN!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terre143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dave_therange, Owner at The Range, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Terre143,

We are thrilled that you had such a wonderful time dining with us at The Range. We appreciate you taking the time out to leave us your feedback on TripAdvisor. I will be certain to share your comments with our team. We will look forward to serving you again in the future and we will be sure to tour you throughout the historic property.
Respectfully,
Dave Hermann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Range? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing