We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is overpriced and ambience so-so”
Review of The Range

The Range
Ranked #8 of 35 Restaurants in Salado
Price range: $14 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: The Range is an Elegant eatery offering some of the finest dining in Texas. Utilizing fresh local ingredients. Our culinary team creates and serves delicious, adventurous food. Attention to detail is the cornerstone of our service and food quality. Allow our team to welcome you as our guest.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The food was okay but not worth the price. The portions were small and presentation was not very good. My wife had scallops that smelled fishy when served. My filet was okay, not great. It had a parsley/basil sauce and you should not have to cover a filet with a sauce.
The service was good. Our server was helpful, prompt, and attentive. The hostess was friendly as were the other staff we encountered. The restaurant was a quiet place conducive to conversation. There weren't many people in the place but at least there was no background music and poor acoustics that enhance noise and other conversations.
The lounge upstairs looked shabby for a restaurant that is supposed to be upscale. It reminded me of lounges in third-tier hotels and budget motels. The bartender gave good service. It was also hot in the bar. The lounge is upstairs and you have to be able to negotiate the stairs.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Spring_Valley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 81 of 117 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

Food was good. We didn't have a reservation and didn't know we needed one. Hostess was very snobby and kept us waiting at least 30 minutes before we were seated which made no sense because I could see the dining room were not full at all. Then she proceeded to stick us on a very narrow table for two shoved up against the wall. We said no and we got the table for two at the window across the room. Food was very good but their service stinks!

Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dave_therange, Owner at The Range, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear Leslie B,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We are shocked to learn of anyone on our team being "snobby" and will be addressing this tonight with our entire staff. We understand that sometimes there is a wait time for seating and apologize for the inconvenience this causes. Often times it appears that a table should be able to be utilized immediately. As we are a multilevel restaurant we often times have other groups throughout the restaurant ordering and being served from other dining rooms and seating additional guests in a timely manner is a priority and bit of a balancing act to ensure quality service throughout your meal. I assure you our goal is to provide exceptional food, coupled with attentive and thoughtful service. Again, we appreciate your comments and taking the time to let us know your concerns. We will work to address your concerns and improve our systems for seating and service in an effort to exceed expectations.
Respectfully,
Dave Hermann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have dined at The Range for special occasions, business dinners, and to treat ourselves to a night out locally. We are NEVER disappointed. The staff is friendly, professional and top notch. The food is always delicious. I can recommend The Range without hesitation.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank AuntZan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dave_therange, Owner at The Range, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

AuntZan,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts with the TripAdvisor community. We greatly appreciate your kind words. We are encouraged to know that your experiences warrant your recommendation. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Respectfully,
Dave Hermann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The food was great and the place was beautiful. Service was great. The waiter was very nice and the food was served in plenty of time. The drinks were very good also.

Thank happyfamily12009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dave_therange, Owner at The Range, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear happyfamily12009,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback and review for us with the TripAdvisor Community. We will certainly look forward to serving you again soon.
Respectfully,
Dave Hermann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

A nice splurge. Fab food-crispy trout on mashed potatoes YUMOLA! Intimate little lounge upstairs with a young local lady playing her guitar and singing-coffee served in a french press. Very nice place but with laid back, homey feel to it.

Thank cuteboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dave_therange, Owner at The Range, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Cteboot,
We are thrilled you enjoyed your time and experience with our team at The Range. We thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback with the TripAdvisor community. We will look forward to serving you again soon.
Respectfully,
Dave Hermann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Range? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing