We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Found out too late to change our plans” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn Salado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Days Inn Salado
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Salado
Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Found out too late to change our plans”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed here for the Salado Wine and Chocolate Festival. The room was adequate. The pool was out of order. The breakfast area had an extremely limited selection and the quality was poor. And in general, the hotel was not very inviting. After talking with some locals, they said it would have been better to stay at the Holiday Inn Express, right next to the Best Western Plus.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alongfortheride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwtony, General Manager at Days Inn Salado, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Sorry for the inconvenience. I appreciate you staying at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    44
    29
    23
    22
See reviews for
70
34
16
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Euless, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night and that was one night too much. Room was hot on arrival. Room was infested with bugs. Shower did not drain. The lobby smelled strongly of Indian food. Indian man setting barefoot in lobby when we arrived. Swimming pool was out of order as well as the juice machine at breakfast. Breakfast was less to be desired. Room, tables and serving area were dirty. It's a bed and breakfast for me next time I'm in Salado.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwtony, General Manager at Days Inn Salado, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
We are sorry to hear you did not have a pleasant stay. We would like you to come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Salado hotels

Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

If you have been to a Best Western Plus before, your experience with this location will leave you with a bad taste. The hotel is currently at the site of major road construction. In order to leave the hotel and head south, you will need to drive north two miles and make a U-turn. Expect to drive a minimum of five miles for food or gas. The hotel is brand new, the common areas are nicely appointed with lone star tiling and fixtures, but the room furnishings do not reflect this decor. Many of the fixtures have extreme wear, like down to raw wood. The couch in the room was dirty and cushions were grooved. The room and the hotel interior are incongruent. The hotel room was hot on arrival. The manager stated that the rooms are maintained at 75 degrees and cool quickly, but I beg to differ. I am all for energy savings and conservation, but not the expense of comfort. I asked for another room, but was told they were unable to accomodate the request although the hotel was a ghost town. Needless to say, my stay was rather limited as I opted for another location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HalfspeedTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwtony, General Manager at Days Inn Salado, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
We are so very sorry for this inconvenience. We hope you can give us another chance and stay at our hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Pros:
Easy to find.
Close to town.
Good location off of I-35.
Ample parking.
Good beds and very clean sheets.
Good towels.
Prompt, excellent service from front desk. Very efficient service, if a bit robotic, which is odd, because I have never dealt with that.
Rooms were sufficiently clean, BUT could use some dusting and deep cleaning in corners.

Cons:
PAINT COLORS IN ROOMS.. PSYCHODELIC MUSTARD YELLOW. Just no. Repaint in muted neutrals would score 100%!
Love that its family oriented, just NOT that whoever was running it cooking there strong smelling cuisine when we checked in.
Also kids running up and down hallway early in the morning and babies crying doesn't make for a restful sleep.
Have a bit more patience with check-out. Allow extra 15 minutes instead of calling @ 11:01 to see if we are on the way out. :/

Overall, very nice place, and with a few improvements, especially cleaning, no strong smelling personal cooking, and color changes in rooms, will be a keeper for years to come!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank txan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwtony, General Manager at Days Inn Salado, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for your complete honesty. Also thank you for this helpful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Its a nice place to stay. Its clean and beds are comfortable. We stay every year as part of Jehovah Witness convention; the only thing I don't like is the pool too small for a full hotel capacity. Breakfast is good eggs, waffles, cereal and coffee.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Esther R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwtony, General Manager at Days Inn Salado, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Esther,Thank You so much for this great review.We hope to serve you again for your next year convention here in Salado,Tx.See you and your family again in summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Just a bad spot nowhere close to somewhere to eat 1 gas station within miles n miles rooms were clean but had a stinch smell
Comming from the ac vent may be a dead mouse called for someone to look at it nobody shows ill
Just go somewhere else

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Baggerly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwtony, General Manager at Days Inn Salado, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Apology to you Mr.Baggerly for not exceeding your stay at our hotel.Due to road construction most our business along IH 35 are closed.Our staff were inform of oder and made the correction so other guest would not be effective by this issue.Again,sorry for the inconveince.Please give us another chance to serve you again when visiting Salado,Tx.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

My family and I have been staying here for the past 3 years when we have to go to our Jehovah Witness Convention. It's a great hotel, very clean and quite. The breakfast is not just donuts and coffee it's a full breakfast, which helped us out with our meal expenses. Tony, the manager, is great, always very friendly and if something is wrong with your room he comes to the rescue to fix it or give you another room. We hope to stay here next year!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Griselda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwtony, General Manager at Days Inn Salado, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Griselda,We at BW Salado Inn would like to Thank You for your review.
Our staff at the hotel take pride in serving past guest like you.We will see you next year same time to serve you again at our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salado
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Salado-Belton
5.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Belton - Temple South
12.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Temple
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Temple
10.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Temple- Belton
12.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Temple
Hampton Inn Temple
#1 of 24 in Temple
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Salado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Salado

Property: Days Inn Salado
Address: 10825 S IH 35, Salado, TX 76571 (Formerly Salado Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Salado
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Salado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Salado 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Days Inn Salado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing