We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Inn on the Creek

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn on the Creek
Ranked #1 of 12 Salado B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This B&B is by far my favorite one in the area! The rooms are great and the food is even better! My wife and I enjoy going to the Inn just for dinner sometimes. There is no better place to eat in the area and the price is rather low for the quality!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joshua920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
There are newer reviews for Inn on the Creek
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 178 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

Our host was very friendly, welcoming, helpful and informative. We had dinner in the restaurant our first night, which was excellent, and at "The Shed" down the road the second night, which was very good also. Breakfasts were delicious and well served. The Inn offers very nice touches to make your stay pleasant, like a bell jar with a flower and pieces of fudge by the brass bed, high thread count sheets, and single serve good coffee and tea. We stayed on the third floor in the McKie room, which offered a king sized brass bed, dormer windows, a cozy library nook with a view of the creek, and an over sized claw foot bath tub. We liked the bath so much, we never made it down to the hot tub. We were able to walk into town for shopping and coffee, relax reading in the hammocks, and take good, deep naps in the quiet of the afternoon. Our host pointed out the location of the headwaters of the spring, where we found "La Sirena", a statue of a mermaid that watches over the springs. On our way back, we stumbled on a tea house in a bamboo grove, and learned that it was crafted with love by a craftsman who had loved the former owner of the Inn. We also enjoyed spending time with the resident cats. So, if you are looking for some down time, to rest, renew and refresh, with excellent food and good service, this is a great place!

Room Tip: We stayed at the McKie room on the third floor, which includes a library nook, large claw foot bath...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My wife and I just celebrated our anniversary at Inn on the Creek in Salado. For years, we have enjoyed staying in B&B's while traveling all over the country as well as in Europe. I must say that the Inn on the Creek ranks among the nicest ever! We were warmly greeted and given a tour of the facilities before moving into the McKie room, the largest room in the main house. It was absolutely beautiful with antiques and a lovely view of the grounds and the creek. Very comfortable, very quiet, and very private!
The breakfast was delicious with impeccable service, and after that, sitting in a double rocker, overlooking the creek with a resident cat in our laps made this experience even more welcoming.
While the bar at Alexander's was fantastic, the dinner service and meal were the only negative that we experienced. I will absolutely stay at the Inn on the Creek again, but I will investigate other dinner options.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My wife and I have been staying at the inn for many years and every year they just get better. The restaurant now called Alexander's is so good. We had the New Years eve dinner and it was outstanding. We would recommend anyone looking for a great place to stay and dine to visit the Inn on the Creek and Alexander's.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gfwtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

My husband, 1 year old son, and I loved the Inn on the Creek. Will was wonderfully helpful and made us feel so welcome. We stayed for 5 nights to enjoy the Austin F1 race. The drive was exactly 1 hour and really very easy. The grounds were relaxing and watching my husband and son swing on the hammock will be a lasting memory. The room was lovely as well. We will be making this a yearly tradition.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This was our first time stay at the Inn. Will, the host and innkeeper, was most helpful. The Christmas Stroll in Salado, the Manor (Inn), the creek, the setting, the breakfast...EVERYTHING! was memorable and wonderful. The staff at the Inn helped to make this a perfect getaway! If you, the reader, are only mulling over the idea of, perhaps, staying at the Inn...do it! You will not regret it! Make the reservation and let the folks at the Inn do the rest. To the folks at the Inn: Thank You for everything! We are now hooked, so we booked (for next year!). Maybe we will see you all before then! (Yes, it was that memorable of a stay!)

Room Tip: The rooms at the Manor are more Victorian in style, and they are next door to the restaurant and the...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed in this establishment for one night recently. The first thing which strikes you is the town of Saledo itself on the drive to the Inn. Saledo is a place with many art and craft type shops just made for a days wandering around them all. The first thing which strikes you on reaching the Inn is how quaint it looks. After a few days travelling and staying in 'corporate' style hotels to come to such a place makes a nice change.

Other reviews have mentioned the host Will, and all have praised him. We can add nothing else to this other than agree that in every way he is the perfect host.

The rooms in the Inn are actually spread out over two buildings, one just across the street from the main house. All are individual in style, with the one drawback that they are quite small. The room rates for the Inn are comparable to that of larger hotels and for the price we would have expected a bit more room and comfort. The Inn is quite close to the interstate and as it was a cool night we turned off the air conditioning unit. The result was that we heard a lot of noise from the interstate all night.

The Inn is equipped with hammocks in its grounds which is a perfect way to spend some time, and also has a hot tub, and rocking chairs on the porch. It also has a very small gym.

The restaurant food can only be described as fabulous. We had a great meal there and met the chef afterwards. We were staggered at how young he is. He has a great future. Breakfast the next day was also very nice.

So all in all a good place to spend a short break.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JandJ71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salado
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Salado-Belton
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Salado
Days Inn Salado
#2 of 3 in Salado
195 reviews
6.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Belton - Temple South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Temple
13.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Temple
14.6 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Killeen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Creek

Address: 602 Center Cir, Salado, TX 76571-6126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Salado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Salado
Price Range: $154 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn on the Creek 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn on the Creek is the most full-service, boutique lodging property in Salado. With two on-site restaurants, beautifully manicured creekside grounds (complete with hammocks) and striking views of the creek from the fitness room and hot tub - our ambiance is like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Inn on the Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing