We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wildlife”

Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Sadler
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Over 300 species of birds live with 200 oil wells in this refuge since 1951.
Plano, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wildlife”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Watch for Eagles and lots of other wildlife..knowledgable volunteers to educate about the area, and the animals that visit the preserve.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tnwjoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    11
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Wonderful Park For Winter Birding”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Just returned from Hagerman. This is a really nice U. S. Fish and Wildlife Service park with a wonderful "new" visitor center. There is no charge, but donations are welcomed. The park visitor center is staffed by a dedicated volunteer staff. On Saturdays, the park offers a tram tour provided by the enthusiastic and informative volunteers. I recommend the tram tour, and the nature trails are nice. This park is a day trip from DFW. Great winter birding!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank kamybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“snow geese”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

While we were in town for a few days visiting family, had some time to spare so we drove out to the refuge. Found it on trip adviser. Was surprised at the facilty, really nice. Migrating ducks and geese everywhere.They also have some nice hiking trails. Worth the time to come out and explore by walking or driving.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank e_knott74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent Wildlife”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I love visiting Hagerman. The refuge is a great place to do a little birding. The newly built visitors center has great interactive learning centers for children & adults. They also usually have some type of presentation on the weekends. They usually start early (9-10am) since it tends to be so hot during the summer. Most the tours are self guided. You can get a map at the center and go at your own pace. Some places are closed off during mating season though. There are clear signs indicating this. Fun place for families or couples.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank brooke23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipton, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful visit”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Being amateur birders we opted to visit the Refuge. We were not disappointed as there were many species of birds migrating through the area. The sky was full of white pelicans as we approached the refuge. What a magnificent sight. The visitor center is relatively new and is a beautiful facility. The staff was great and they were obviously very proud of their facility. They even loaned us a pair of binoculars to use as we toured the refuge. I hope that we are able to visit the area again as the bird populations vary from season to season.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hagerman National Wildlife Refuge also viewed

 

Been to Hagerman National Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing