We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an experience!”

Royers Round Top Cafe
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Round Top
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Grapevine, Texas
1 review
“What an experience!”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I have dined at Royers MANY times and it has always been a GREAT experience! This weekend was no exception. Service with a smile, incredible food and unmatched ambiance. Being seated with others makes for interesting conversation and an opportunity to expand your circle of friends. If you want the predictable, go to a chain restaurant! The Royer family has created a gem in a small town. We absolutely LOVE this cafe and Pie Haven around the corner. Keep up the good work.....can't wait until the next time.....AND, SAVE ROOM FOR DESSERT! OMG....

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    65
    18
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Will never go back!”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We waited 1 hour for over priced food. The person who makes the burgers needs to get over themselves and learn to grill a medium burger. The place is way too crowded, I don't enjoy being told to sit with other people at a table after waiting for an hour. The atmosphere inside is trashy with all the junk on the walls. How about reinvesting some of the money you charge for your over priced food and put it back into the business by expanding the layout. This business tries too hard to be like some Austin dive restaurant when they should focus more on making quality down home food in a small town setting. Basically this place/ employees need to get over themselves I could cook better food on a Coleman stove around a campfire!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Shinerbock123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon Lake, TX (near Austin)
Level Contributor
147 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

My wife and I had the lunch portion of the Pork Tenderloin with sides of Broccoli Salad, Creamed Corn, Black Eyed Peas and Marinated Vegetables. We cook Pork Tenderloin often at at home and we're careful not to cook it past 145 degrees. It is always juicy and tender. Our Pork at Royer's was dry and tough from overcooking. The flavor was fine but it didn't rescue the dish. I liked the Creamed Corn but the other sides were just OK. We were aware of the unusual practice of not taking credit cards and the community seating so we were fine with that. We took a piece of Junk Berry Pie home with us and enjoyed it with dinner. It was pretty tasty although the crust was not flakey. It was a little bit like a shortbread cookie dough. Still We liked it. Service was good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CanyonJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
316 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Royer's IS Roundtop!”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Royer's Round Top Cafe is a destination of itself. Bud Royer has built a great dining experience that matches any big city dining experience without the fluff and stuff. Expect community tables that you share with others. Expect to wait for a table and it is worth the wait. Expect great flavors and choices of entrees that you would certainly not expect in a little city diner. The pork tenderloin with mashed potatoes and creamed corn is to die for. Leave room for a slice of pie with iced cream although that is asking a lot since portions are generous and too good to leave on the plate. Do not expect a fine dining ambiance. I always leave feeling like I need a hammock under one of the trees in the city square across the street for a little nap before I see the other sites of Round Top.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zepper50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth The Wait”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We loved it so much that we went 2 days in a row. The burgers and pies are fabulous. The first day we went it wasn't crowded at all. The second day was a Saturday and we decided it was worth the 45 minute wait. It is a small venue but the atmosphere fun.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Traci J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royers Round Top Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Royers Round Top Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing