We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did Somebody Say "Pie Shake?!" Victory!”
Review of Royer's Pie Haven

Royer's Pie Haven
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Round Top
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Did Somebody Say "Pie Shake?!" Victory!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

As if Royer's could get any better, Pie Haven is the prodigy of owner, Bud Royer's, only daughter. And, aren't we all thankful for her! She has established herself within her family business and done something very special...by which, I mean...PIE SHAKE!

Imagine...a whole piece of pie and your favorite ice cream...blended together to make a pie shake. It's so American and so perfect for an on-the-go summer treat. The bakery's muffins are modeled after the cafe's famous pies, so you can have those with coffee if you're too shy to eat pie for breakfast. Their chicken margarita pie is an excellent lunch item, and you can go across the street for dinner, so the Royers team has all your daily three squares covered!

Go and get yourself some delicious ding dongs, muffins, hot coffee, delectable desserts, T-shirts and the sort and enjoy hanging out on the porch or under the shady oak trees while you watch visitors mill around the neighboring galleries. It's an incredibly pleasant way to spend a morning or afternoon...and delicious, too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    18
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
“Coffee and Pie victory”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Royer's Pie Haven is a simple spot for coffee and pie victory. I've been going to Royer's Cafe reliably for 15 years, and now this little outpost gets my stop-by business whenever I am in town. Take a pie home with you. I brought the Butterscotch Chip Pie to a party last week and it was the favorite of the pot luck.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A Must Stop”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

A mandatory stop in Roundtop whether for coffee and an unforgettable sin-namon roll in the morning, a piece of fabulous margarita pie for lunch or a mid-afternoon slice of pie. With many more than a dozen pies to choose from there is one for every palate and you won't be disappointed. I've tried the apple, chocolate chip, junkberry and peach pies and all were delicious. The pumpkin whoopie pie was a big hit during my last trip. Don't forget whole pies to go or they ship. I brought a margarita and junkberry pie home to my parents to share the experience and it made their day.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 814CindyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Slice of Heaven”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

A tiny spot on the map, that will feed your stomach and your soul. Warm, delicious pies for a meal or dessert. A must visit destination in the newly restored Henkel Square. I recommend the margherita and junkberry pies, although my daughter begs to have whole chocolate chip pies shipped to our house!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank globurson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine
2 reviews
“Pleasurable, Perfect, PIES!!”
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Bud and Tara have created the ultimate recipe for happiness! There are savory pies (the margarita is my favorite), unbelievable muffins (you must try the oh so good sausage, cheese and jalapeño), the perfect cup of coffee and the best assortment of delicious, tasty PIES (Junkberry is at the top of my list)! Better than anything is the friendly service and atmosphere. It is no wonder why they call it the Pie Haven....this place is an escape into delicious delight!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royer's Pie Haven also viewed

 

Been to Royer's Pie Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing