We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Shakespeare in a barn! Yes, it is a great thing!

Finally made the drive out to Round Top for a UT production of a Shakespearean play at Winedale... read more

Reviewed July 22, 2018
Maura_Patricia
,
Austin, Texas
A hidden treasure

It maybe out of the way. But if you are doing Round Top music or antiques festivals... read more

Reviewed October 2, 2017
Nancy-Jane G
,
Austin Texas
Read all 16 reviews
  
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveler rating
11
3
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
3
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ut students true texas shakespeare study production homes field austin
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 16 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2015 via mobile

16 of us had reserved a 10:30 am tour to see. 2 houses. One we did see but Beth said we could not go upstairs! It was not barred and the stairs were typical stairs. One lady went up so we all followed. We did not see the 2nd house as a bit of an attempt was made to put down some wood chips on the small area but they would not let us tour it for the 1 hour promised. Did not get any advance notice about the change. Was supposed to be. 2 hours not 1. I believe an improvement in public relations is needed. Perhaps the millions of dollars their football coach earns can contribute to a small gravel walk to the house we could not see!!

Date of experience: May 2015
3  Thank Sagea2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2015

Call the Winedale Historical Center to book a visit with a docent to get tons of interesting information. Our tour guide, Barbara, did an outstanding job. Even if I only remember a portion of the information she doled out, it was a great learning experience. We toured both the Lewis home and the McGregor homes and the barn. The homes provide great examples of early Texas architecture and furniture. Rudolph Melchior, a German artist painted the beautiful ceiling borders and panels above the fireplaces. Ima Hogg, a well-known Texas philanthropist purchased the property in the 1960's. I recommend going in the Spring and the beautiful bluebonnets and Indian Paintbrushes will add to the scenic drive to Winedale.

Date of experience: April 2015
Thank SusanVerret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2015

I want to go see it again. They put a lot of work into it and the shop is cute with many good items. Learn a bit of Texas History by walking around the grounds and reading the information.

Date of experience: May 2014
1  Thank SavvyTraveler2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Used to attend "Eeyore's birthday party here back in the late70's. The girls still remember it! Round Top is a cool little town. Also, they have live Shakespeare there, too. Would love to go back :)

Date of experience: May 2013
1  Thank Corkie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Red and White quilts and vintage fabrics chosen from the University of Texas Quilt Collection are on display from Feb. 10 to Feb. 23. Don't miss it.

Date of experience: February 2014
2  Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews