We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location!”
Review of Round Top Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Round Top
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Round Top Inn
Ranked #3 of 11 Round Top B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
1 review
“Wonderful location!”
Reviewed March 14, 2012

The setting of the Round Top Inn is gorgeous: a beautiful piece of land in the heart of a lovely small Texas community. Everything you need is within walking distance: the library, shopping, places to eat, etc. The rooms were comfortable and well-appointed. Although the day was warm, a cold front blew through and the night was chilly. No problem! The central air & heat delivered both A/C for the afternoon and heat for the night. The rooms are furnished with pretty antiques; it's like staying at Grandma's! The farmhouse where we stayed had a wide front porch with rocking chairs; just perfect after a long day's drive! The host was welcoming and the flowers were just starting to bloom. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
20
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Don't miss this terrific B&B--book early so you won't be disappointed. Beautiful property with multiple historic buildings on it. You might be staying in a well appointed little house that's 150 years old, or in a wonderful, huge bedroom on the top floor of the main building. Attentive staff, excellent breakfast. You can walk to anywhere in Round Top from here--easy to get to the square, restaurants, galleries and shops. It's quiet, and the ancient oak trees on the property are absolutely beautiful. Very professional management. BTW, I've also been to a party in the event room several months ago--if you're booking a meeting, dinner, engagement party, etc., you should look at the events possibilities here.

Room Tip: The "Gate House" is my favorite room--two story, great front porch. One bedroom up and one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2012

The Round Top Inn combines luxurious beds, sumptuous towels and superb breakfasts with the perfect manicured grounds that are barely a block from the town square. We stayed in the Gatehouse with a king-sized bed upstairs, two twins down, a spacious bath and a wonderful porch with rocking chairs. David, our host, made sure everything was top notch while still managing to make our stay fun and relaxing. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marthabp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Besides the beautifully appointed rooms, the quaint setting & its proximity to town, there is a comfort and calm that comes when you arrive at the Inn.
The Round Top Inn is an exquisite place for a weekend escape, or to stay when you are in the thick of a busy Antique Show. It is better than home.
David & Janell make you feel like a long lost friend and welcome you with open arms, your beverage of choice and a little snuggle from Billy Paul.
I travel 6 months out of the year and the Round Top Inn is a favorite destination. Before I left last time, I booked my next trip there...just to make sure there was room. Love, love, love it!

Room Tip: The cottages are wonderful, but I love staying in the house. Both rooms are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendyleetoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

For the opening night of the Round Top Music Institute Festival, I traveled for the weekend to Texas, and stayed at the Round Top Inn. This was the perfect choice. The inn, which is a B&B, is ideally located, being situated a block from the center of the town. The room was immaculate, well appointed and comfortable,, and the grounds were welcoming and beautifully landscaped. The owner, David, was friendly, engaging and professional and made me feel at home in his inn. The breakfast was more than ample and was delicious.. When I return to Round Top, I would not stay at another location.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyitalian98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoup
Level Contributor
116 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Located in the artist enclave of Round Top, Texas, this B&B is really an old German village made up of charming restored cottages dating back to the late 1800's. The innkeeper is gracious. Our cottage was adorable with real American primitive antiques, wide plank floors, beadboard walls and a small very relaxing front porch. You enter the cottage and are greeted with twin old iron beds covered in Colonial blue toile bedspreads. Then the next room is where the sink is set in a old farm table and an old singer sewing machine base used for the locally roasted coffee service. A tiny bath was off of this room with excellent towels and shampoo, etc. From there there was a narrow staircase leading up to the old attic space where a super comfortable queen bed with feather pillows, ceiling fan and more primitives decorated the room. It is centrally heated and cooled which was necessary in this Texas heat. In the morning the Innkeeper has a great breakfast in the main house. You can walk to the town where there is a famous cafe named Royer's, have drinks in an old stone house that has a wine cellar and live music on some weekends. There is no TV or radio in the cottages, adding to that simple country life feeling. Get yourself a Shiner Bock beer and watch the longhorns chomp away and the hectic city life fade away.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2011

Our room was in a remodeled historic wood building. Incredible trees outside, really amazing trees. Everything was spotless inside, nice bed, just everything as it should be. Comparable to a very nice hotel.
The owner bent over backwards to help us out, I mean way above and beyond and without even asking, he offered. Really it makes you think about all the other places that treat guests with the minimum amount of hospitality even though that's the business they're in. Will go out of our way to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Round Top
14.2 mi away
Best Western La Grange Inn & Suites
16.4 mi away
No photo provided
Cottonwood Inn
#5 of 7 in La Grange
35 reviews
16.5 mi away
Hampton Inn La Grange
Hampton Inn La Grange
#1 of 7 in La Grange
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Brenham
18.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Brenham
15.3 mi away
Best Western Giddings Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Round Top Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Round Top Inn

Property: Round Top Inn
Address: 407 S White St, Round Top, TX 78954-5159
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Round Top
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Round Top
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our lush, one-acre property is a collection of 13 rooms in seven vintage cottages set on manicured grounds framed by majestic oaks. Our cottages range from one to three rooms each, allowing you to experience the perfect accommodations for a private getaway or small group gathering. Each guest room is decorated in a style known around here as sophisticated country. We aim to offer joyful and authentic hospitality in every way we can, so look forward to boutique-style decor, luxurious bed linens, locally-sourced breakfasts and the finest amenities and conveniences including free Wi-Fi. The Inn is walking distance from Round Top's shops, galleries and restaurants, and next to Prost! wine bar and patio. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Round Top Inn Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing