We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint historical charm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Round Top Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Round Top
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Round Top Inn
Ranked #3 of 11 Round Top B&B and Inns
Stoup
Level Contributor
112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Quaint historical charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

Located in the artist enclave of Round Top, Texas, this B&B is really an old German village made up of charming restored cottages dating back to the late 1800's. The innkeeper is gracious. Our cottage was adorable with real American primitive antiques, wide plank floors, beadboard walls and a small very relaxing front porch. You enter the cottage and are greeted with twin old iron beds covered in Colonial blue toile bedspreads. Then the next room is where the sink is set in a old farm table and an old singer sewing machine base used for the locally roasted coffee service. A tiny bath was off of this room with excellent towels and shampoo, etc. From there there was a narrow staircase leading up to the old attic space where a super comfortable queen bed with feather pillows, ceiling fan and more primitives decorated the room. It is centrally heated and cooled which was necessary in this Texas heat. In the morning the Innkeeper has a great breakfast in the main house. You can walk to the town where there is a famous cafe named Royer's, have drinks in an old stone house that has a wine cellar and live music on some weekends. There is no TV or radio in the cottages, adding to that simple country life feeling. Get yourself a Shiner Bock beer and watch the longhorns chomp away and the hectic city life fade away.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
19
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2011

Our room was in a remodeled historic wood building. Incredible trees outside, really amazing trees. Everything was spotless inside, nice bed, just everything as it should be. Comparable to a very nice hotel.
The owner bent over backwards to help us out, I mean way above and beyond and without even asking, he offered. Really it makes you think about all the other places that treat guests with the minimum amount of hospitality even though that's the business they're in. Will go out of our way to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2011

My fiancee and I stayed at Round Top Inn while in town for a weekend getaway. The Inn is the very definition of "Charming," and I absolutely love the rich history and beautiful grounds. The old oak trees are just stunning, and the vintage touches and beautiful antiques in the cottages are just lovely. We had the most relaxing time -- I could hardly believe that someplace just over an hour away could feel like a completely different place, removed from all the stress and hurry of everyday life. We loved relaxing in the rocking chairs on the porch, and the complimentary breakfast was fantastic! We also had fantastic meals at Royer's Cafe and The Stone Cellar. All in all, it was a wonderful getaway! We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizgroh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2010

My dog, Holly has enjoyed so many wonderful trips to the Round Top Inn that she considers it to be her second home. Among her favorite events was the 'Halloween Goes to the Dogs' art exhibit of dog portraits. In the picture titled "4-Legged"; Holly enjoys the cocktail hour outside the Cigar House with other art enthusiasts. She has spent every July 4th as a very excited fan of the Round Tip Parade. But her favorite thing is to relax and enjoy nature outside the Texas Room...her home away from home.

I need to book my 2011 reservations...Holly is 'begging' to 'stay' at the Round Top Inn.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston, texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2007

oh my goodness! i loved this b&b. my family and i (3 kids age 5, 2 and 3 months included) stayed there this past august. we wanted to visit brenham and happen upon anderson's round top inn. its only about 15 minutes outside of brenham. from our 1st dealings with to our last, everyone at anderson's b&b was so friendly, helpful and polite. the rooms were fabulous! we looked at all of them and i'm definately going back to stay in some more. it is located right off of Round Tops town square. Round Top is very small but as charming and friendly as the owners and operators of this perfect b&b. if you want a laid back vacation there is plenty to do in round top and brenham with at a slow country place. in round top there are several shops, a childrens library and the festival institute at round top (a wonderful place to take family pictures, WONDERFUL). then just down the road (towards la grande) a petting zoo/ farm (we didnt' make it to that). in brenham there is of course the blue bell creamery, blue bell aguatic park, more shops in the town square, a monastary with miniature horses and a brand new gocart/bumper boats/putt-putt/ arcade. all of which were fabulous!! if you need to get away i suggest not over crowding your getaway with things to do; youre gonna want to be able to enjoy the b& b. oh the prices were so resonable too. and let me not forget the best breakfast was the french toast, strawberries and these awesome mini sausage patties wrapped in crescents. yummy!!! thanks jackie i love your place cant wait to come back and visit

  • Liked — everything was wonderful, wonderful people, good food, wonderful accomodations
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank tiffany777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Round Top
19.6 mi away
Coach Light Inn Brenham
Coach Light Inn Brenham
#3 of 11 in Brenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
20.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn of Brenham
14.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN La Grange Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Brenham
15.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Giddings Inn & Suites
16.5 mi away
Hampton Inn La Grange
Hampton Inn La Grange
#1 of 7 in La Grange
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Round Top Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Round Top Inn

Property: Round Top Inn
Address: 407 South White Street, Round Top, TX 78954
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Round Top
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Round Top
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our lush, one-acre property is a collection of 13 rooms in seven vintage cottages set on manicured grounds framed by majestic oaks. Our cottages range from one to three rooms each, allowing you to experience the perfect accommodations for a private getaway or small group gathering. Each guest room is decorated in a style known around here as sophisticated country. We aim to offer joyful and authentic hospitality in every way we can, so look forward to boutique-style decor, luxurious bed linens, locally-sourced breakfasts and the finest amenities and conveniences including free Wi-Fi. The Inn is walking distance from Round Top's shops, galleries and restaurants, and next to Prost! wine bar and patio. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Round Top Inn Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing