We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hoody's Subs

Hoody's Subs
Ranked #16 of 335 Restaurants in Round Rock
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Seating, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
54 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

I ate here the first time last week and was very pleased. I'm not much of a sandwich sub type of person but went with some people and was very satisfied. It was amazing!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bethanyrenea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    6
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Best Philly cheesesteak ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

We take the reviews on here seriously so when I heard that some are faked and beefed up by employees we worried, however it hasn't failed us yet. This place was a gem! We were passing through from Temple to Home and have to go through Austin (which makes my hubby angry cause we don't have much traffic like Austin does.) We found it easy, the owner was super friendly and nice, the food was amazing!! We have a Philly place close but it doesn't even rate in awesome taste like this does....if you are ever passing through you must find this place!! Yum, yum, yum!!!!!

Helpful?
Thank Samantha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Authentic East Coast Sandwiches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Delicious, real food from the East Coast. Made to order, fresh and friendly service from Brad, Alice and others.
Big line on Thursdays because the Philly Cheesesteak is the day's special; but it's worth it. Other sandwiches are just as good. You can't go wrong eating at Hoody's!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lourdes S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
247 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Craving a cheesesteak!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hoody's offers the best cheesesteaks I've yet to find in the greater Austin area. They're located in a little strip mall in Round Rock (with some other quality choices for a quick lunch), have a completely understated atmosphere with simple wooden tables & benches, but offer great cheesesteaks and other specials with quick service.

Lines can be a little long on Thursdays, which is the day when cheesesteaks are the daily special, but it's still worth it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SDSUGRAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best Cheesesteak subs in the region”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've wandered over to Hoody's in Round Rock for many years. Their cheesesteak with mushrooms and peppers is super - yummy and big. Friends of mine often order the cold subs but I've never found a reason to alter my order. They also carry Tastycakes which can be hard to find in Tx. Sometimes the lunch line can be a little long but it's worth it. The booths are uncomfortable, but besides that it is a great local spot for lunch.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank annieb214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoody's Subs also viewed

 

Been to Hoody's Subs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing