We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Subs in Austin, Not Close, From a Philly Area Guy”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hoody's Subs

Hoody's Subs
Ranked #18 of 349 Restaurants in Round Rock
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best Subs in Austin, Not Close, From a Philly Area Guy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

I moved here from Wilmington, DE 18 years ago. The Wilm/Philly area is the home of the "Philly Cheesesteak" and genuine Italian subs. I first stumbled into an "imposter" east coast sub shop before finding Hoody's and there is no comparison. Hoody's rolls are uniquely east coast, firm, lightly crispy outside, softer inside. The cold cuts are the best. The cherry peppers are so much better than jalapenos or banana peppers, especially combined with sweet peppers. The cheesesteaks are unparalleled. The staff is always friendly and solicitous. And Dick Hoody always takes care of the customers. They are almost like family after all these years: most still hear from way back when I found them.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KAR1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    7
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great made to order subs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Fantastic Philly cheesesteak, lots of flavor and quite a big sub. You have to wait a bit for it as they make it fresh to order but it is worth waiting for.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock,Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Meatball”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

I found this place one day looking for the best meatball sub. I have found it. It is gotta be 13 inches and has 6 big fat meatballs inside. With plenty of tangy sauce. Melty cheese, onions,spiced just right. And the rolls crust is just hard enough to hold all that awesome goodness inside. Friendly staff. The best I have had in the fifty years I have been on this earth. Do yourself a solid and try one you will Not be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MasterCleaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply the best - for 20 years!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Undoubtedly, Hoody's has the best cheesesteaks. They are so good and so authentic that they don't call them "Philly" cheesesteaks, just as if you were eating one in Philadelphia.

In addition, they have high quality deli meats, sliced in the store, and an amazing meatball sandwich. Not to mention Zapp's chips and amazing cookies.

Finally, Hoody has been treating customers as kings and queens for a long time, and his staff continues in this tradition.

You must eat here.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JustSchneider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoodysSubs, Owner at Hoody's Subs, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thanks so much for the great review, and for stopping by! We're glad you enjoyed everything, and we hope you'll come back again soon and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hoody's Subs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Hoody's is a hometown sandwich shop with delicious food. Each time you visit Hoody's you will be greeted by Hoody himself. The employees have worked with Hoody for years and know the regular customers by name. The sandwiches are wonderful! A must if you visit Round Rock.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoodysSubs, Owner at Hoody's Subs, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thanks so much for the great review, Karen! It's people like you that make our job so enjoyable. Thanks for stopping by, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoody's Subs also viewed

 

Been to Hoody's Subs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing