We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chuy's

Chuy's
Ranked #4 of 335 Restaurants in Round Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Texas
Level Contributor
216 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great food and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Located directly across the parking lot from our hotel, this was a good choice for dinner before a AAA ball game. We split an order of fajitas and some chips with queso ... all more than enough. Highly recommended.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TxTrvlr88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    123
    40
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hutto, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Needs a larger menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My husband loves this place and their food. Im not a huge fan myself. I never know what to order because i don't feel like i have many options here. The lines are always very long and service for me usually seems to be a bit long.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leander, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Over 30 Years”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Chuy's has been feeding me since 1983. Other than the long waits, you can't go wrong. Two kinds of salsa, creamy jalapeno dip (FREE), the best shrimp rellenos, their deluxe tomatillo sauce is the bomb, their chickien is white meat shredded, not pink disgusting leftover crap other restaurants serve. Try the Elvis Platter if you're hungry. Kids meals all come w/ ice cream pops at the end. If you like hubcaps, Velvet Elvis, and colorful stimulating atmosphere with TOP NOTCH affordable Tex-Mex, Chuy's is the best of the best. I only wish they'd build one in Cedar Park!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank kerbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Everyone's loves Chuys!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

If you have never been to Chuys them you are missing good solid authentic Tex Mex! The food is excellent, the servings are plentiful and the service is top notch! Get you a "Keep Austin Weird" shirt for memories, I did!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
68 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“When we have visitors, we take them to Chuys!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Chuy's is a local (but growing!) chain, and I think all of them offer the same great atmosphere and food, I just happened to click on this one for a review since I probably go to this location most often. As other people have mentioned - DO ask for the creamy jalepeno dip upon being seated. In fact - there are three dips that are free, you just have to ask for the creamy jalepeno and the table sauce for them to arrive at your table.
The wait can be long, but there is a bar section with free chips/salsa while you wait. As for portions - I often share as they are generous with portion sizes (and I can't help but fill up on chips). I personally happen to love the Elvis Combo since you get a taste of everything. Another good thing about sharing is it may leave you room to enjoy their Tres Leches cake which is seriously delicious.
Whichever location - be sure to enjoy the unique decor, whether it is pez containers lining the bar, hubcaps on the ceiling, or fish garlands swimming overhead.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dot15409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chuy's also viewed

 

Been to Chuy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing