We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over 30 Years”
Review of Chuy's

Chuy's
Ranked #5 of 355 Restaurants in Round Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Takeout
Leander, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Over 30 Years”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Chuy's has been feeding me since 1983. Other than the long waits, you can't go wrong. Two kinds of salsa, creamy jalapeno dip (FREE), the best shrimp rellenos, their deluxe tomatillo sauce is the bomb, their chickien is white meat shredded, not pink disgusting leftover crap other restaurants serve. Try the Elvis Platter if you're hungry. Kids meals all come w/ ice cream pops at the end. If you like hubcaps, Velvet Elvis, and colorful stimulating atmosphere with TOP NOTCH affordable Tex-Mex, Chuy's is the best of the best. I only wish they'd build one in Cedar Park!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank kerbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    143
    55
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Everyone's loves Chuys!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

If you have never been to Chuys them you are missing good solid authentic Tex Mex! The food is excellent, the servings are plentiful and the service is top notch! Get you a "Keep Austin Weird" shirt for memories, I did!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“When we have visitors, we take them to Chuys!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Chuy's is a local (but growing!) chain, and I think all of them offer the same great atmosphere and food, I just happened to click on this one for a review since I probably go to this location most often. As other people have mentioned - DO ask for the creamy jalepeno dip upon being seated. In fact - there are three dips that are free, you just have to ask for the creamy jalepeno and the table sauce for them to arrive at your table.
The wait can be long, but there is a bar section with free chips/salsa while you wait. As for portions - I often share as they are generous with portion sizes (and I can't help but fill up on chips). I personally happen to love the Elvis Combo since you get a taste of everything. Another good thing about sharing is it may leave you room to enjoy their Tres Leches cake which is seriously delicious.
Whichever location - be sure to enjoy the unique decor, whether it is pez containers lining the bar, hubcaps on the ceiling, or fish garlands swimming overhead.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dot15409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good food but a long wait on a Saturday night”
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at hotel near by. Had to wait 45 minutes on a Saturday night at 7PM. Good food...too much noise to carry on a conversation.
Obviously they have big crowds all the time..very organized

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miata P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“mmmmm”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Sooooooooooooooooooo good and super fresh. Try any thing it's all excellent. Chuychanga yes. Enchiladas yes

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amber H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chuy's also viewed

 

Been to Chuy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing