We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best Italian Food in Austin!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Main Street Grill

Main Street Grill
Ranked #30 of 341 Restaurants in Round Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Lampasas St.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Italian Food in Austin!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

My boyfriend have been here a few times and the food is always delicious. Recently we went here and reserved to eat dinner in their vault room, which was very cool, at no extra charge! I am a huge Italian food nut, and this is the best Italian food I have found in the Austin area. I get the Main Street Alfredo dish with chicken each time, and it's so delicious I absolutely love it. My boyfriend had the New York strip which came with an incredible sauce over it, tasted wonderful. Overall, this is a great restaurant and worth trying.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Felicia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    24
    10
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
114 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is not your typical pile it high, serve it quick, throw them out, US restaurant.
It strives to be more of a dining experience and in some respects it succeeds, but in others, there is room for improvement.
The prices will keep out some of the less discerning diners which is to be commended and, as a Brit, I do appreciate restaurants in US where linen is used in tandem with real cutlery!
But the finishing touches are missing. Side plates at set table suggested that pre meal bread or similar may be forthcoming. It wasn’t, so why the plates?
Table cloth had holes in it and decor, carpet especially, need upgraded.
Biggest crime, removing my plate while wife still eating!!
Incorrect etiquette!
Good food and service though means we may return!
My comments say it all, close but no cigar! Attention to detail needed, as food great…
What is it about US eateries, they seem incapable of making a meal out an occasion? Warm bread or olives at start, teas or coffee at end. Its not that difficult!
Lingering is good!
And profitable!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Blueangels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Va
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A real gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

This was one of the best restaurants I'd been to in awhile. Everything from atmosphere, service & food were fantastic. We started with the shrimp diablo and spinach brie appetizers. Those could've been my entree alone!

My friend had a salad & I had the French dip sandwich-one of the best I've ever had.

Dessert was a let down but that was because I ordered cheesecake & I'm a cheesecake snob. I make a creamy, rich, dense one at home and theirs wasn't worth the calories, so only had a few bites.

Would definitely come back/recommend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BaileyElaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A Favorite restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

I have eaten at Main Street Grille on three occasions and rate it as a favorite restaurant in the area. My food has always been well prepared and the service attentive. I have eaten a lovely dinner in their bank vault, and have been there on two occasions with ladies for lunch. I will suggest it to others who want an intimate, classy, and full menu restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“A beautiful setting with luscious food and excellent service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

It was a magical night! Twinkling lights, snow white tablecloths, wine, and the best steak I have had in the Austin area!
Everyone's food in our party of seven was great. There was dinner music! Afterwards we walked the square and enjoyed the Christmas lights! Round Rock Texas did themselves proud!

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Blurbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Main Street Grill also viewed

 

Been to Main Street Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing