We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Its just not about the pasta”
Review of Johnny Carino's Country Italian - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Johnny Carino's Country Italian
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Its just not about the pasta”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Obviously Carino's can do the Italian flare but they have chicken and salmon dishes that are wonderful. Salads fresh with a good vinaigrette. Bread so fresh.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    8
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrens, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
75 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food, Good service”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We had really good service. It's a chain restaurant so if you've had them before you know what to expect. I was starving, they were right there, so this is where we went!! The calamari was excellent!!! Each of our dinners were served piping hot and fresh and tasted quite good!!! The bread is very good and fresh as well.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shelley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield Park, Arizona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly, Comfortable Dinner”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

After hard day's work, we dined at Johnny Carino's twice during our last visit to Round Rock. We ate in a booth in the bar area ... the service was great and food very good even though we were some of their last clients for the evenings. Pork Chops were top notch!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R_and_B204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible place to eat”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

As soon as you get in you will see how dirty the place is; it smells so bad that it is hard to stay inside. I had to leave because the plates on the table were dirty. Avoid this place if you can.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maru T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Texas
Level Contributor
380 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Know now why their parking lot had plenty of space!”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We were in Austin visiting kids and grandchildren and went out to eat on a Saturday evening. We did not have reservations and tried a new restaurant (for us) in their neighborhood. It was around 6 PM and they said we would have to wait around an hour for a table for 7. With hungry small kids, we opted to try somewhere else. Johnny Carino's was nearby and their lot was only half full. We had not eaten there before either, but had eaten at one in Amarillo a couple of years before and were very well pleased with that experience.

We were seated immediately. We noticed a lot of wait-staff present, and learned they had a trainee following each regular waiter. We ordered stuffed mushrooms and a mini calamari as appetizers. We ordered a bottle of Frances Coppola Cabernet Sauvignon for the adults and waters for the kids. The adults ordered the "Saturday Special" where two could dine from selected entrees for $24.99. My wife and daughter-in-law ordered the Balsamic glazed chicken breast served with angel hair, spinach, Roma tomatoes, and parmesan. Our son ordered their signature hand-breaded chicken served with tomato sauce, parmesan and mozzarella and served with spaghetti. I had homemade 16-layer lasagna made with layers of pasta, Italian sausage, beef, meat sauce, ricotta, mozzarella and parmesan. The kids had one pizza dipper and two orders of kid's mac-N-cheese. The adult orders came with salads. We had two Caesar's (with little dressing as requested) and two house salads with ranch, all of which were very good. The starters were also all very good. There was a moderate, but not too long a wait for the salads.

It then seemed a very long time before the entrees came out. The kids were growing impatient and claiming about being hungry. Once the adult entrees arrived, we had to wait maybe another 5 minutes before the kids entrees arrived??? My son indicated his chicken was very good; was cooked and seasoned well. The tomato sauce, however, was very bland; no salt, no garlic, no seasoning at all. My lasagna was pretty good, but strangely, the Italian sausage and beef was all in the sauce and not in the actual lasagna. My wife's and daughter-in-law's balsamic chicken was overcooked, dry, and very bland, again with seemingly absolutely no seasoning! Both said their angel hair pasta was bland and had a slightly peculiar (and unidentified) taste. Both found some fettuccine noodles in their angel hair - no non-food items, but yet an indication of not proper separation of foods in the kitchen.

Although not exceptionally long, it did take us an hour and a half to get served and eat and we found ourselves several times waiting what seemed like long periods for food from the kitchen when the restaurant was not full. The problem did seem to be the kitchen and the wait-staff was attentive. When the entrees arrived some were not properly prepared and / or were very bland. Afterwards, we realized why their lot & restaurant was not full when other surrounding ones were full with people waiting.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaroonDawg67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnny Carino's Country Italian also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing