We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent brunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jack Allen's Kitchen

Jack Allen's Kitchen
Ranked #2 of 346 Restaurants in Round Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
182 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Excellent brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Reservations are pretty much a necessity for any normal eating time. Oh, and come hungry! The Sunday Brunch is fabulous! Lots of options, including southwest-inspired stuff but also the basics (pancakes, biscuits, granola, fried chicken). Staff is constantly putting out fresh food, and nothing looked tired or tasted cold. Menu changes based on what the chef buys at market. Considering the quality and quantity of food at brunch, the price is very good value.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank crusadercc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    494
    199
    34
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Home Cooking with Oomph”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

The food was very good and in large portions. We had the Nachitos and the Fish Tacos. Both were tasty and well prepared. They had some home cooking items with a twist on them. I looked at the chicken fried chicken and gravy with green chilies but sounded a little heavy for the time we were eating. The service was good. Definitely a unique eating experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TX2Step_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
299 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Bring a Very Big Appetite!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

First tip - if you don't have a reservation, even on a Sunday - get there before 5:30. By 6:30 there is a long wait for a table. We have not eaten here is quite a while and I was really wanting some good food tonight - wound up taking most of it home! We ordered the Chicken Nachos and was shocked at how large the order was - it was enough for 2 people to eat dinner. It was deliciously fresh and tasty with just the right amount of heat. I then had the crab stuffed snapper with a rather large helping of mashed potatoes - after all the nachos, we boxed most of it up to bring home. My husband had the 5 cheese macaroni with grilled chicken and he too brought it home. Of course we could not leave w/o having dessert so we shared the peach cobbler with Amy's Mexican Vanilla Ice Cream (it was National Ice Cream Day after all.) It also is enough for 2 so order accordingly. The special Margarita and my Dirty Martini were also excellently done. Go hungry - but plan on bringing some home!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Noni53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
248 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Great modern southern cuisine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Be sure to get a reservation if you can, as the place fills up quick. Can't go wrong with any of the menu items, but the chorizo stuffed pork medallions were lovely! Great happy hour specials, too!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food is great!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Nice atmosphere, and great food - We were a family of 6 and have a very good service ,we like it and we are definitely coming back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tonia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack Allen's Kitchen also viewed

 
Round Rock, TX
Round Rock, TX
 

Been to Jack Allen's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing