We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Cooking with Oomph”

Jack Allen's Kitchen
Ranked #2 of 359 Restaurants in Round Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Home Cooking with Oomph”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The food was very good and in large portions. We had the Nachitos and the Fish Tacos. Both were tasty and well prepared. They had some home cooking items with a twist on them. I looked at the chicken fried chicken and gravy with green chilies but sounded a little heavy for the time we were eating. The service was good. Definitely a unique eating experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TX2Step_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    537
    216
    42
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Bring a Very Big Appetite!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

First tip - if you don't have a reservation, even on a Sunday - get there before 5:30. By 6:30 there is a long wait for a table. We have not eaten here is quite a while and I was really wanting some good food tonight - wound up taking most of it home! We ordered the Chicken Nachos and was shocked at how large the order was - it was enough for 2 people to eat dinner. It was deliciously fresh and tasty with just the right amount of heat. I then had the crab stuffed snapper with a rather large helping of mashed potatoes - after all the nachos, we boxed most of it up to bring home. My husband had the 5 cheese macaroni with grilled chicken and he too brought it home. Of course we could not leave w/o having dessert so we shared the peach cobbler with Amy's Mexican Vanilla Ice Cream (it was National Ice Cream Day after all.) It also is enough for 2 so order accordingly. The special Margarita and my Dirty Martini were also excellently done. Go hungry - but plan on bringing some home!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Noni53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Great modern southern cuisine!”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Be sure to get a reservation if you can, as the place fills up quick. Can't go wrong with any of the menu items, but the chorizo stuffed pork medallions were lovely! Great happy hour specials, too!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food is great!”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Nice atmosphere, and great food - We were a family of 6 and have a very good service ,we like it and we are definitely coming back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tonia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pflugerville, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“New Gem in Round Rock”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

What a lovely experience! The guacamole is the best I've ever had! Good variety on the menu. Attentive wait staff - shared stories about the owner, clearly she loves her work! Great happy hour! Saw several items that I want to try on my next visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ajs78660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack Allen's Kitchen also viewed

 
Round Rock, TX
 

Been to Jack Allen's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing