We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Everything was great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of French Quarter Round Rock - CLOSED

French Quarter Round Rock
Price range: $15 - $35
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Leander, Texas
Level Contributor
99 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Everything was great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My sister and I had lunch here. The garlic herb butter served with warm sourdough rolls was soo good, then I had the blackened chicken poboy with chicken gumbo and fries. It was the best gumbo ever and the bread on the poboy was so yummy. My sister got the basil cream pasta with blackened chicken and loved it. the portions were so large that we had no room for the orange crème brulee everyone raves about. Cant wait to come back! Wonderful waiter and gorgeous restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cindycjz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    4
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great food in historic building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This restaurant is in a great old building that used to be a stagecoach inn. There is much of the original brick on the interior & it is upscale & nicely decorated to make you feel like you are in New Orleans. They also play good Cajun music while you dine. I had a tall drink called a Swamp Juice which was very tasty. Had the shrimp gumbo, which was very reasonably priced, delicious & not too spicey & surprisingly had 9 large shrimp in a cup! My husband had the house salad which he said was very fresh & contained tomatoes, cucumbers, carrots, onions, almonds & shaved parmesan. Most things on the menu, including seafood entrees, were reasonably priced with the exception of steaks, which were pricey. I had a shrimp & crawfish pasta, which was a huge serving but could have used a little more shrimp & crawfish & less cheese filled tortellini in 3 colors. The mushroom brandy cream sauce was excellent. My husband had the Jumbo Shrimp entrée with mashed potatoes & squash & all items were very good. The service was somewhat slow both from the kitchen & from the waiters since they have to make the drinks at the bar but otherwise the service was very good. Overall, it was great for a romantic occasion with excellent food at reasonable prices.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 53TXTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Cajun food in Suburban Austin, Texas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

The appetizers, salads and main dishes have fine Louisiana ingredients and are prepared deliciously, presented attractively with generous portions. Prices are reasonable as well. Atmosphere is quietly elegant. Soft lighting and tablecloths. Beautiful large lumps of blue crab used in dishes.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VSJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
“Our favorite place to go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I love this place. The food is consistently wonderful every time we go, which is about once a week. They make a great Cosmo, and the staff is always very accommodating. But most importantly, they have the best Gumbo. I was not a gumbo fan until I tried their Crab meat gumbo. Superb!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Monica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“French Quarter in Round Rock”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Went to the French Quarter for a quiet Saturday evening dinner. We didn't have reservations but the wait staff and hostess were accommodating and was happy to squeeze us in. The wait staff was polite and made suggestions for dinner. We enjoyed the dinner. Next time I will get reservations since we probably won't be able to eat without them.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jingles1506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed French Quarter Round Rock also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing