We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best Brisket in Central Texas” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Johnny T's BBQ

Johnny T's BBQ
Ranked #123 of 348 Restaurants in Round Rock
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Do a google search, check out yelp. I just ate there and want to write a review. Thanks!
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Brisket in Central Texas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

I am a Texas gal who has eaten a lot of BBQ from a lot of places all over Texas. Johnny T's smokes the best brisket in Texas and it melts in your mouth. The décor is not fancy, but who cares. The staff is friendly and the food tasty.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucyvp2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    7
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tender meats, excellent sides and sauces”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We found this restaurant via Yelp. Wonderful BBQ meats and a variety of side dish options. Stop here if you like BBQ and a mom and pop atmosphere. We'll eat here again on our next visit to Texas.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank urchie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It's hard to beat this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

True Texas cue shack atmosphere. Excellent service from a young staff. Obviously a great pit master/chef. Brisket melts in your mouth with great smoky flavor. Chicken is plump and meaty. Great homemade sauce (although the brisket doesn't need it) creative sides. This place is a winner amongst a lot of competition.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Flyntexn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A regular that loves it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

It always amazes me what fabulous concoctions Johnny will come up with next. Nothing pretentious just good ole food at a very reasonable price. Not only the staff is friendly but patrons actually talk to each other.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock,Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best BBQ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

I always get the two meat plate. Brisket moist and chicken white. Comes with two sides. I have tried them all and my favorite is sweet potato fries and green beans. Great favor spiced just right a choice of sauces. I like the spicy.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MasterCleaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnny T's BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Johnny T's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing