We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Brisket in Central Texas”
Review of Johnny T's BBQ - CLOSED

Johnny T's BBQ
Cuisines: Barbecue
Description: Do a google search, check out yelp. I just ate there and want to write a review. Thanks!
Restaurant details
Description: Do a google search, check out yelp. I just ate there and want to write a review. Thanks!
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Brisket in Central Texas”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I am a Texas gal who has eaten a lot of BBQ from a lot of places all over Texas. Johnny T's smokes the best brisket in Texas and it melts in your mouth. The décor is not fancy, but who cares. The staff is friendly and the food tasty.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucyvp2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    7
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tender meats, excellent sides and sauces”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We found this restaurant via Yelp. Wonderful BBQ meats and a variety of side dish options. Stop here if you like BBQ and a mom and pop atmosphere. We'll eat here again on our next visit to Texas.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank urchie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It's hard to beat this place”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

True Texas cue shack atmosphere. Excellent service from a young staff. Obviously a great pit master/chef. Brisket melts in your mouth with great smoky flavor. Chicken is plump and meaty. Great homemade sauce (although the brisket doesn't need it) creative sides. This place is a winner amongst a lot of competition.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flyntexn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A regular that loves it”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

It always amazes me what fabulous concoctions Johnny will come up with next. Nothing pretentious just good ole food at a very reasonable price. Not only the staff is friendly but patrons actually talk to each other.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock,Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best BBQ”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I always get the two meat plate. Brisket moist and chicken white. Comes with two sides. I have tried them all and my favorite is sweet potato fries and green beans. Great favor spiced just right a choice of sauces. I like the spicy.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MasterCleaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnny T's BBQ also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing