We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to find craft beer in the area!”
Review of Westside Alehouse - CLOSED

Westside Alehouse
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great to find craft beer in the area!”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

This is a large sports bar with lots of inside and outside seating. They have many beers on tap, in bottles, and a full selection of other drinks and wine. They offer beer tasting flights so those new to craft beer can taste different brews. Friendly staff. Good burgers, sandwiches and salads. There are a few game tables inside, as well as plenty of big screen tvs with various sports channels. Great place to drop in for a beer and burger. I have seen both young and old enjoying this place.

Located right off I35 and plenty of parking.

Have been there several times and never disappointed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    17
    11
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kyle, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Blah Food, BAD Service”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Nice looking place. Sat at the bar. Listened to the staff bad mouth each other the entire time while basically ignoring me.

I had the jalapeno stuffed burger. Pretty blah. Burger had a weird texture and was seriously greasy.

Definitely won't be adding this place to the rotation.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Veggie burgers!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We love the veggie burgers here. I also really like their side salads. The tomatoes are diced, so you don't have to eat the whole slice in one bite. They use field greens instead of just iceberg. I gave them 4 stars instead of 5 because last week we went in for lunch and were never greeted. We ended up walking out. That is the only time out of many visits that anything remotely like that ever happened.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Leah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, MD
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice Hangout After Work”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This was not what I would have expected an "Alehouse" to look like. It was crisp and clean modern inside.

I came here twice with associates after work while in Round Rock. The first night the service was excellent and food was very good. There are many beers on tap and daily specials on food and drink.

The second night, the server was not friendly at all and acted like it was a chore for her to serve us. In fact she was almost hostile. I watched her interaction at other tables and it was the same, so this must be her normal deal.

I had an excellent burger one night and an appetizer the next. The prices were reasonable.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank diverdude2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Drink the Beer, Eat Before You Get There”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Huge TV's all over the restaurant and something like 50 different types of draft beer. That is the highlight.

The food is definitely lacking in flavor and the help sure could use some lessons in customer service. We had a cheeseburger with bacon on it and still, NO FLAVOR. Fries, fried pickles and mozzarella sticks too. NO FLAVOR. As for customer service, there wasn't a hello, welcome, this is what we have for a special today or anything. It was "something to drink" and "ready to order".

We won't go back.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank MiguelA68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Westside Alehouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing