We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Cocina

La Cocina
Ranked #54 of 341 Restaurants in Round Rock
Cuisines: Mexican, Italian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Houston
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We have been traveling to Round Rock for ten years visiting family. We have eaten in many restaurants, and without a doubt this was the best dining experience in all these years. I had Italian, and my husband had Mexican food. Food was well prepared, good service, and good value. Not fancy, located in a strip center.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank tctravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    6
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Augustine FL
Level Contributor
639 reviews
407 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“This place is rated number 1 for a reason!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I asked the front desk of our hotel for someplace that had great food and was not a chain. They recommended La Cocina, the clerk said it was Half Mexican, half Italian!

Sounds like a strange mix, but man was the food good. I had the Fajitas and my business associate had the fish.

Both were amazing.

Also the inside was tastefully done with really nice wall murals.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gregbooras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA USA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Can't Beat This One”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Place was clean.
Servers were friendly.
Prices were very reasonable.
The food was great!
Highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lippekj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Happy Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is a hidden gem. Great food, although both Italian and Mexican are offered on the menu, we ordered both and were pleasantly surprised at the freshness and authenticity.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Crickex1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Round Rock or Austin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

If you're looking for great food, great service and a super wine list for a small family restaurant go to La Cocina Bar and Grill for Italian or Mexican food. I found the place shortly after it opened several years ago and the food has been consistently outstanding. Be sure to try any specials that Chef Ish Diaz comes up with on Fridays and Saturdays because he makes some real gems. It's hard to say what my favorite dish is because the entire menu is outstanding. This is a must visit place and worth the drive if you are coming from Austin.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Wayne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cocina also viewed

 

Been to La Cocina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing