We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good donuts”
Review of Round Rock Donuts

Round Rock Donuts
Ranked #1 of 10 Dessert in Round Rock
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Takeout
North Mankato, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Pretty good donuts”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I was staying somewhat nearby and, based on the TA ratings, made the trek to this establishment. My cream-filled bismarck was good, but had some residual raspberry filling also. The baked cinnamon roll was pretty good but a little dry on the edges. It's been a while since I've had donuts from a genuine donut place, and I was not disappointed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greekprof7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    782
    160
    53
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good donuts!”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I went in the middle of the week around 9am so it was not busy inside at all. Gave me time to take in the very friendly southern hospitality from the nice ladies at the counter. My friends whom took me there said that usually it is about a 25 min wait for donuts. They said the donuts I got this day are not as good as when they are fresh. I got 1 plain glazed, 1 choc glazed, 1 fried cinnamon roll and 1 fritter. My favorate was the plain glazed. I wish I would have stuck with just that. The choc glazed was good but the fried cinn roll was not at all. The fritter I had the next day was hard so I didn't care for that either, they are very thin fritters so dry out quick. But that plain glazed donut was so good it takes over for all the rest! I will go on a weekend next time to get the freshest just made donuts. FYI-Their yellowish tint to their donuts intrigued me so I looked into it and found out they use yellow food dye to acheive what used to be a natural tint from using farm fresh eggs.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tecnicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Donuts PERIOD!”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Always stop at Round Rock donuts before the drive back to Dallas. These are the best donuts I have ever tasted.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DWDSWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Donuts were off the hook good! So fresh and tasty.......there's a reason there's usually a line. Round Rock wouldn't the same without them. LOVE LOVE LOVE!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Round Rock Donuts, AKA, Lone Star Bakery”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

From the simple donut to their pies, everything is delicious and reasonably priced!
Their drive-up is now open until 6:30p (well it is on the date of this review), which makes it so convenient to grab donuts for the office for the next day. And their drive-up service is FAST!! Don't turn around if you see a long line, your wait will be much shorter than any fast-food restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AstroBuff2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Round Rock Donuts also viewed

 

Been to Round Rock Donuts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing