We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Whenever I can!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rudy's Country Store & Bar-B-Q

Rudy's Country Store & Bar-B-Q
Ranked #3 of 335 Restaurants in Round Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Whenever I can!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Love Rudy's! Sure Franklin and Muellers are great, but if you want quick and good BBQ, it can't be beat! Lean Brisket, Pork Loin and Creamed Corn are my favorites! Only suggestion is to take the High Fructose Corn Syrup OUT of your BBQ Sauce!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rowdie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    120
    21
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, Texas, USA
2 reviews
“Great Texas BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great spicy chop, high quality meat, and awesome ribs! New potatoes nice and buttery and the creamed corn is terrific.. Hard to go wrong at Rudy's.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
172 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Excellent Barbecue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Whether beef brisket, chicken or ribs, or sausage, this is where I'd send you for authentic Texas barbecue......there are similar places in town that are uber-hyped and have either long....read hours and hours....wait times, or are just average food at best. I grew up in a small Texas town, and this is as close as you'll get in Austin City Limits to the real deal. It can be crowded and noisy....and the outside area, can be very hot in the summer months. Plenty of parking, at both sides and in the lot in back of the building, this location is on the service road of IH 35 and can easily be seen.
Enter through the front and note the staggered line to the right. Pick up your sides from the refrigerated case as you pass, and step up to the counter to order and pay. Condiments at the end of the line near the front.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank falconfling1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“pour on that hot sauce”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Excellent BBQ place, you can't go wrong with anything you choose. Whatever you choose, don't miss the sauce. The hot BBQ sauce is great. Take some home with you. I always do, even if its the small containers, specially if you have take away or leftovers.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MystS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“"I have clean hands"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Rudy's - an experience and a place to visit if you are around the area. Service is extremely friendly and fast. Food - thought I had enough, but I went back for seconds on the same visit. Meat is very tender and moist and done just the way I would wanted. Salads were great too.
Don't forget to to wash your hands with the auto-hand wash. Do remember its not fine dining, but great food!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mstsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rudy's Country Store & Bar-B-Q also viewed

 
Round Rock, TX
 

Been to Rudy's Country Store & Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing