We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best BBQ out there!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rudy's Country Store & Bar-B-Q

Rudy's Country Store & Bar-B-Q
2400 N IH-35, Round Rock, TX 78681
512-244-2936
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 319 Restaurants in Round Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best BBQ out there!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Love Rudy's St Lous ribs and iced tea, soooo good! Rudy's is always our first choice when we just passing through. Quick and great food! :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NN9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Rudy's provides consistently good BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We have lived in Austin nearly 20 years. We really enjoy BBQ but since we've had to cut back on meat for health reasons, we pick and choose carefully. The only 2 places we will have BBQ in Austin are Rudy's and County Line. Rudy's is more convenient, and having had their BBQ in 3 locations, I can say they have mastered the art of consistency in BBQ. We've been to the Round Rock, 620, and 183 Rudy's and all are excellent. I am wild about the sausage links, and lean brisket while my wife prefers the moist brisket. The cole slaw is very good (although not as good as County Line, which is the BEST!) but the buttered potatoes are to die for at Rudy's. We really love the atmosphere, so rustic and friendly, you cant not make friends there.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank KAR1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Not bad but had better Rudy's in other locations. Food quality was good but seating and location not great.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brand0n_806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossett
Level Contributor
590 reviews
301 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Who would have thought delicious bar-b-que at a gas station”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Rudy's is a great treat! The moist brisket is so good. The sauce is tastey and unique. My son gave this sauce as a hostess gift for a wedding shower and everyone was thrilled. Breakfast tacos are not your ordinary tacos. The spicy meat is a great addition to any taco. All of the barbque meats are moist and delicious and the sides are great. Casual dining adds to the meal...you sit family style at long tables with paper squares for plates. This is a place you will go again and again. This property is especially clean and very friendly staff. Easy access from the Interstate.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gran7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Some of the best BBQ in Texas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Most people who travel through Texas or better yet, live there, know about Rudy's. These red gas station with big smokers in the back have some of the best bbq available in Texas. Extra Moist brisket is our favorite. However, they have excellent smoked turkey, ribs, and sausage. Their cream corn is the best I've ever had and their beans are exceptional. Decent banana pudding available in the cooler just before you reach the order desk. Enjoy, y'all.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rudy's Country Store & Bar-B-Q also viewed

 
Round Rock, TX
 

Been to Rudy's Country Store & Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing