We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classic BBQ in a relaxed environment”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Salt Lick BBQ

Salt Lick BBQ
Ranked #5 of 349 Restaurants in Round Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Classic BBQ in a relaxed environment”
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Tried this place after moving to the Austin area and hearing so much about it. There were no disappointments! The service was great, the quality of this traditional Texas BBQ lived up to the expectations in every way! I'd suggest going for the all you can eat family version as the food just keeps coming! The only thing I'd like to see are some booths in addition to the bench & table seating.

Helpful?
Thank Roaddogg800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    415
    269
    137
    43
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
140 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Consistently great BBQ!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Food is always good, service is usually good and beer is cold. We used to drive to Driftwood to the original location but the last time we made the near 1 hour one way trek were disappointed in both the food and service. The Round Rock location doesn't quite have the ambiance of the original location, but 9 times out of 10, we leave there satisfied with money well spent.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank syd21300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pretty Good 'Cue!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I've been to 2 Salt Lick Locations. The original, and now the one in Round Rock. This doesn't really have the ambiance of the one in Driftwood, but the food is the same quality. It's good BBQ. I had the rib plate, and was completely satisfied with what I got. The wait wasn't TOO bad, but prepare to stand in line for a while. The beer was cold, and the serving staff was great. As we were walking out, I pointed to a window for my wife to look at their smoker. One of the cooks saw us and invited us in to see it up close. It's a huge horseshoe shaped smoker with rebar for a grill and brick construction. He was proud of it, and for good reason! My father in law lives in Round Rock, and I'll definitely be up for The Salt Lick the next time we visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robb969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just like the original!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

EVERYTHING is wonderful! Brisket is tender, turkey is out of this world. I love the potato salad and the bread. Love the atomsphere!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The brisket was just okay. I've had better, but only at a couple of other places. What really keeps me going back there are the beef ribs. These things are awesome! Sauce dripping all over them, perfectly seasoned, and they fall off the bone to boot. Other than the ribs, everything else is just mediocre.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wwire76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt Lick BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Salt Lick BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing