We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very yummy”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Salt Lick BBQ

Salt Lick BBQ
Ranked #5 of 350 Restaurants in Round Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very yummy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Perfect restaurant for tourists wanting a texan bbq. Ribs were the highlight, and the pecan pie was great to finish the meal. Dont expect fancy looking food, but its quick service and lots of good food. Decently priced too.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grace R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    415
    269
    137
    43
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Two visits in April”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Had a very fun time and a nice meal here with out of town guests in for a wedding. If you want the feel of a real Texas BBQ this place is great. Ask the waiter what he/she recommends that night as it can vary. We went to a baseball game at the adjoining Dell Stadium for the AAA Round Rock Express (feeder team for the Texas Rangers). The baseball park and the food/drink/entertainment venues within the park were awesome. The baseball game combined with the BBQ made for a great Texas evening. Lots of fun

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Really good but didn't live up to the hype. Brisket was okay. Ribs and sausage were really good though. Sides just okay. Would come back.

Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“We still think about this ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

We came here after a day out in Hill Country and it was a wonderful experience. Great buzzling energy in the restaurant and you can see the grilling taking place in the BBQ at the front of the restaurant. on a cold night out, nothing is better than warm bbq and great service.

we had 2 platters and could not finish them. service was great too and we came back once more for bbq before we left for nola.

great prices and delicious delicious bbq. seriously the best we have had.

it is a real experience and you must come here when in Austin.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michloh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
104 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Seriously? No "moist" brisket??”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

I walked into the round rock Salt Lick expecting decent texas bbq. I was extremely disappointed. I don't understand how this place got the good reviews it got but I assure you they weren't done by experienced bbq lovers.
True texas bbq, as every true texan knows, is NOT about the sauce. True texas bbq should be enjoyable by itself. The sauce only serves as an enhancement to already delicious meat. Some joints don't even have sauce. Others make sauce from the dripping of the meat. That being said it's obvious why I was so surprised to see my brisket arrive with bbq sauce already on it!!!! I asked for moist brisket. The server informed me their brisket was moist. He, like the reviewers, also doesn't speak the language of brisket. "Moist" brisket is cut from the fatty part of the meat. The excess is trimmed off leaving nice succulent "moist" meat. This place serves brisket. One kind. Overly trimmed. Dry. Borderline lean. No smokiness. No rub flavor. Just the run if the mill out of a bottle kc masterpiece sauce they pour over the meat.
Then there's the pork ribs. Pork ribs should also me nice and moist. Easy to pull off the bone. Not dry. Tough. And again, covered in sauce.
Their beans were ok but who cares. Really. You want the best bbq in Texas? Moist brisket that oozes succulence? Ribs that fall off the bone and are full of flavor? Sausage that melts in your mouth? Go 10 miles down the road to Louis Muellers in Taylor. I promise you it's true texas bbq and you will love every delicious bite.

Helpful?
1 Thank JoshAlmighty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt Lick BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Salt Lick BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing