We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finger lickin' good!”
Review of Salt Lick BBQ

Salt Lick BBQ
Ranked #5 of 352 Restaurants in Round Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Hereford
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Finger lickin' good!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Visiting Austin and had to travel to Round Rock to eat here and I am sure glad we did! Great BBQ! We had the 2 meat meal. I chose brisket and ribs. The meat on the ribs literally fell off the bone. So tender. Smoked to perfection. Had a nice dry rub on the ribs. (Which we had to buy some to take home) Cole slaw was unique, it was not on the sweet side as normally you would expect. Had a vinegar taste to it. Pretty good. Pickled their own jalapenos. Yum!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JenniferC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    429
    274
    139
    44
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton TX
Level Contributor
110 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good Stuff!”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We were not disappointed in the food and service at the "other" Salt Lick BBQ. Situated right next door to the Dell Diamond, it's the perfect start to a great night of good eats and baseball!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Not Quite As Good As Original, But Still Great BBQ”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is a review for the Salt Lick in Round Rock next to Dell Diamond stadium. The one thing that is noticeable right off the bat is the atmosphere is just not the same as the original one in Dripping Springs, west of Austin. With that said though, the BBQ is still very good. While I haven't had a ton of BBQ in Texas, it is my favorite type.
This particular location is pretty busy, even early in the evening, especially on days when there is a baseball game.
The brisket is by far my favorite thing to get. The sauce is also extremely tasty!
If you have the option, go to the original site, as there is a different feel there. More country and homey feel with BYOB, which is pretty neat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
98 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best BBQ”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Salt lick is located in the hill country texas! Outside of Austin it is well worth the few miles drive. Salt lick is affordable and sticks with the best choices. Their cobbler is absolutely amazing! I suggest the combination cobbler.
This restaurant is a BYOB and accepts cash only. Be prepared. It is a great atmosphere for people to visit and great to see people pulling up with their own coolers. There is a winery attached that has wine tasting and accepts credit cards to purchase wine and souvenirs. The outside atmosphere is amazing and well worth it.

If you are visiting Austin, rent a car, go out to hill country and bring cash! This place is PACKED on the weekends so arrive for a 11:00-11:30 lunch or late dinner!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank macbabe08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound
Level Contributor
76 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch, outstanding service!”
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Have been to the original location in Driftwood, this one is very nice, just not the same ambience. No wait for lunch, very quick and attentive service. Quick refills on all drinks, meat and sides very tasty.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jixers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt Lick BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Salt Lick BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing