We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great food and experience.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salt Lick BBQ

Salt Lick BBQ
Ranked #5 of 343 Restaurants in Round Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newcastle, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
248 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great food and experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

It is about 20 minutes away from Austin but well worth the drive. Great BBQ and experience. They have a good pecan pie too. We got right in and right out. We will be going back for sure.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank debikc4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    395
    251
    131
    39
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Meat is amazing; sides and service not so much”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

The meat was delicious--we had the signature pork ribs, the sausage, the turkey, and the brisket. The ribs were by far the best--so juicy and flavorful! I'd highly recommend them. However, the sides (beans, potato salad, and something else I can't even remember)--were not good. Pretty flavorless. Also, the service was sub-par. We had to wait about 10 minutes for our drink order to be taken, then an additional 10 for our food order, then another 10 minutes to get our bread (which is served at the beginning of every meal). We were STARVING by the time our food came. It wasn't even at peak hours--9pm on a Wednesday. This is what I recommend if you go--order the meat only (on the back of the menu you can order meat by the 1/2 pound, 3/4 pound, and 1 pound) and just eat the free bread for a side. Seriously, the other sides aren't worth it. Also, go before you're extremely hungry, or you will expire by the time the food comes. Despite these negatives, however, the amazingly delicious meat makes it worth it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank akt2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxahachie, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Hype-Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

This place was recommended during our week long stay. Maybe it was just a bad day for the restaurant during this experience. We had a party of 20 and our wait for food was too long and the restaurant was not busy(after 3 before 5)at all during our visit. The food itself was ok about average compared to bbq eaten at other places, the group expectations was a let down after being told of how good the food was to be, but unfortunately on this experience of bbq at this location it was disappointing. As for the service it was about average, and even though on the food it might seem like alot on the plate the quality of it was lacking. Consensus was from the combo plate to the sandwiches, and family platter was the sides and sauce were lacking and meat was dry. Expected more quality of meat for the price. Was not expecting anything like Franklin's in Austin but definitely something a little less based on the hype.Probably could have chosen other establishments more conveniently located to hotel that would have met group expectations. Just one travelers opinion.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ritch F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good little bbq joint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

You need to go to this place.
Great experience.
Out of the way but worth it.
Had a combo plate that was great.
Sides were less than expected.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 3s2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Hill, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Great food, service, and atmosphere. The food just kept coming and they were able to take care of our big group. The staff was friendly and attentive.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt Lick BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Salt Lick BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing