We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good BBQ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salt Lick BBQ

Salt Lick BBQ
Ranked #5 of 341 Restaurants in Round Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cancun, Mexico
Level Contributor
80 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Good smoked and BBQed meat. Love their sauce. nice change to the usual tomato based ones. The ribs, brisket and turkey were nice and juicy

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cangar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    378
    238
    128
    36
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indialantic, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We had heard this was the place to go for great BBQ in the Austin area. It was a bit of a drive, but wow, was this good! We tried the chicken, brisket(lean and ends), and the pork ribs. All were very good as were the sides that came with the plate. We bought a 6pack of Shiner sold next door and sat outside on the patio after dinner. The service was friendly and helpful. A+ meal! ****BYOB and bring cash!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank gotiger11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hewitt, TX
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A little disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Ate there on Sunday June 2nd with daughter and wife. Food was just ok. Place looked understaffed. Seated promptly and then waited for service. Looked like server had a lot of tables to cover. Place did not feel clean. Table a little sticky. Men's room in bad shape. Towels all over floor, trash can overflowing. Got the family style meals. Cole slaw was not good. Just shredded cabbage. Potato salad was good. Beans just like Ranch Style 99 cent beans from the grocery store. Not bad, but I would not go out of my way to go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HoofHeartedLoudly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
160 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good Texas BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

On our way from Houston to Dallas and a lunch stop was in order so we headed to Louie Mueller and he was down for the day due to a pit fire. Well some other customers doing the same thing as us mentioned The Salt Lick down the road a bit was good. We took their advice and it was a pleasant surprise. A new restaurant a bit fancy for Texas BBQ yet not all flash as we were about to figure out. The Rancher with sausage, brisket, pork rib and turkey was a good deal for $16. Cole slaw and potato salad and bread came with,pickles upon request with a slab of onion. The brisket was the flat very lean but still tender and juicy with nice oak smoke that didn't over power. Sausage was very good as well but to my surprise the turkey was scrumptious. Not to forget the giant pork rib that was tender but still had a bit of chew perfectly smoked. My wife had the single beef rib with same sides as me and she was blown away with her meal savory rich finger licking good stuff. Sides here are solid as well no weak spots at this place all round good BBQ right down to their slightly sweet oh so tangy sauce.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KenVOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The BBQ Is Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We had heard so much about this restaurants and decided it was a must to try. We were certainly not disappointed with the service and tasty BBQ. The food servings were more than enough to feed the hungriest of guest. Service was friendly and seating casual enough for all ages and dress. Be sure and have some desert even though you will not have room for very much.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NaniC8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt Lick BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Salt Lick BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing