We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Visit”

Westcave Cellars Winery
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Visit”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We showed up unannounced around 4:30pm with a large group and they were very friendly and accommodating. There was plenty of seating outside under the trees and luckily the weather was cooperative. The tasting was extensive and we got a great education about all the wines. The varieties I usually prefer were excellent. Great laid back mom & pop operation with very knowledgeable staff/owners. The perfect end to a amazing day in the hill country.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dlrusso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    7
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
276 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Wonderfully Friendly Wine-Tasting Host With Intimate Table Setting for 6”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We probably wouldn't have known to visit this particular winery if it hadn't been for our "Heart of Texas" tour guide, Annie. This Round Mountain, TX, picturesque spot is located about 25 minutes from Austin, and situated among the Texas countryside southern oaks and scrub grass of Hamilton Pool Road. In late December, upon driving into its rustic, rural premises, one is wonderfully transposed into a Tuscany-like landscape with multiple rows of dormant grape vines and a massive, Italian-styled stucco warehouse. Warmly greeted by owner, Margaret, we received cheerful, welcoming attention and were nicely seated at an intimate wine-tasting table for 6. Margaret relayed a bit about the winery's "startup history," and adeptly guided us on her various wine selections, equally capable of explaining the ingredients for what was in each served bottle. Enhancing our awareness, she reminded that everyone’s olfactory senses and taste buds perceive wine in a slightly different way. We tasted the lighter, sweeter wines first and then the heavier, dryer red wines last. Upon our departure, Margaret nicely presented us with its 6 winery-logo wine glasses au gratis and, so we 5 family members decided to bestow them upon our Nashville, TN, guest as the lucky recipient. This is definitely a winery we'd choose to return to ~ make it a delightful stop of yours, too!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank afreebing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great winery run by great people!”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I concur with everything that has been said by previous reviewers. My wife and I stopped in earlier this year, and felt at home from the moment we stepped in the door. We have generally had good winery experiences, but Margaret (Westcave owner) is the friendliest person we've ever met. Their wines are fantastic, which provided the clincher for us to join their wine club. Westcave Cellars loves their customers and wine club members, and it shows!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank tjdsatx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
190 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Great wines, friendly staff”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Went here to visit a friend working as a hostess (Sophie). Loved the wine and good value for tasting.. $5 for 5 tastes and a glass too! Enjoy a leisurely afternoon under the tres in their backyard overlooking the vineyard.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank JenEricTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This was probably the highlight of all the Hill Country wineries my partner and I recently visited. The vineyard itself is quite beautiful as is the tasting room. The woman who handled our tasting was both friendly, helpful, and seemed generally interested in our opinions of the different wines. The wines in general were really quite good! We ended up leaving with two bottles but would have loved to have left with even more. On top of that, the winery includes a souvenir wine glass with the purchase of each tasting. I highly recommend this as a top priority if you are looking to visit a Hill Country winery.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank mattyboy549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Westcave Cellars Winery also viewed

 
 

Been to Westcave Cellars Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing