We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for railroad fans & families”

Rosenberg Railroad Museum
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Rosenberg
Attraction details
Rosenberg, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great for railroad fans & families”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Friendly folks there give a great tour that is educational & they share lots of local history as well as railroad history.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cindi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    17
    5
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Kids loved the train”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Little, modest museum but we enjoyed seeing the beautiful train car and talking hobo codes. An interesting collection that the kids still talk about months later.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Layne3233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosenberg, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love This Place!”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Even if you're not that interested in trains you'll love this railroad museum! There are so many collected items to view. My favorite area was the hobo section. Original items hobo's used, pictures, etc. The railroad cars were awesome, bringing you right back to the early days when passengers rode the rails. There was a large assortment of gift shop items to choose from. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and answered every question we had. I love this place!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rosenberg Railroad Museum”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We have visited several RR museum across the USA. We discovered several new pieces of informative history at the Rosenberg Railroad Museum: rail derailment signage, detailed account and examples of Harvey Girls serving techniques, detailed history the local railroad - why they were created, by whom, when they merged, when they were discontinued and why. The tour included a current working digitalized train tower, old caboose, railroad care outfitted for Queen Elizabeth's visit to the USA, original bath house for railroad workers and a HO model RR that is running and detailed and lighted beautifully. Well worth the $4 senior citizen admission fee.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Paula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humble, Texas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Railfest 2013 was a blast!”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We went to the Museum for a special event and all I can say is that the 50 mile drive was well worth it! I really liked that there was one affordable entry fee to the museum/event and then everything else (except food) was included. As a parent, I hate being nicklked and dimed for all the extras so this reallly made things easier. I have never been to the museum before but if you get a chance to attend their yearly Railfest, do.not.miss.it. Your little railfan will think that you are the best parent ever.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank The_G_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosenberg Railroad Museum also viewed

Richmond, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Rosenberg Railroad Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing