We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great coffee, great atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Life House - CLOSED

The Life House
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Description: The Life House - We are craft style coffee roasters, baristas and artisan bakers using the freshest local and organic elements, focusing on community and simple living.
Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great coffee, great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

I'd seen The Life House advertised on Groupon, so when we were in the neighborhood, we decided to stop in. It is a neat old house turned in to a relaxing cafe with three or four rooms turned into seating areas. And although we didn't have a laptop/tablet with us, there are signs indicating free wifi. I ordered a French Toast coffee and hubby had the French Kiss coffee; both were excellent. The cinnamon rolls were delish. I wish this place was close to our house... I have a feeling you'd see me there a lot!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    8
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
125 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice little place for organic food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

I went there with 3 friends yesterday, and enjoyed it. It is very small and homey. The food was great, although the chicken salad could have used a little more mayo and I did not like the tomato basil soup. Next time I will try the chicken soup. The baked goods were delicious. I got to try the empanadas and a cookie and both were delicious! They had some great looking bread too which I will have to try next time. The tea was excellent! Very friendly people. Great healthy food and reasonably priced.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Patti W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in Rockwall, TX”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE The Life House! I actually live about a half mile up the road and have driven past it for months not knowing what it was. This week I was doing some research on local farms and healthy organic foods in the area and stumbled upon The Life House website. I went there for the first time yesterday morning for a loaf of bread and empanada. It is such a neat little place and delicious! I enjoyed it so much I returned with my husband in the evening for tea and a healthy dinner. The owners are welcoming and friendly, and they also love to share everything they know about organic living with those who want to know more. I have been searching for a place like this for months and so thankful to have found it! The Life House is a gem in the heart of Rockwall County!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lledbetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just what Rockwall needed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

Organic fresh baked foods, all home made syrups and flavorings, and the best coffee in town. Starbucks schmarbucks.. .if you haven't tried the life house you are missing out!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fred C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Life House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing