We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Owner cares about guests experience”
Review of Zanata

Zanata
Ranked #1 of 172 Restaurants in Rockwall
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, American, Bar, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our hand-tossed pies are baked in a 900° wood oven. Our chefs then top them with organic ingredients, local produce and imported cheeses. Local favorites are the Truffle Pie with tartufo, potato, pancetta, rosemary and egg; the Standard with pomodoraccio tomatoes, fresh mozzarella and basil; and most of all - our Crab Dip. Everything is cooked to perfection 100% in our wood fire oven.
Rockwall, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Owner cares about guests experience”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Pizza is fantastic
We over ordered - both of us like different sauce so we ordered two pizzas split a salad and cup of soup
Salad was huge and fresh
Pizza was amazing
We took the rest home for dinner
Before we left the owner visited with us- nice guy
I wonder why some places do not engage with their guests - it's how you bring in repeat business - just saying- regardless he is probably the only owner who bothered to introduce himself to us - and guess what-we have told 8 friends from that one visit how great they are - they really are - and reasonable too - you won't be sorry :)

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    94
    19
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
58 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Drove to Rockwall and it was worth the drive.”
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

The best dinner I have eaten out this month! The spinach gorgonzola salad with grapes, dates and nuts was great. The salmon was outstanding.
The mussels with linguini were beyond belief. No wonder the place was packed with a wait as early as 5:30. Great staff. Good beer and wine. Might camp out and eat there for a few days.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrell, TX
Level Contributor
67 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good food and atmosphere”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Zanata has good food with some different kinds of choices on the menu. The salads and pizza are great and the atmosphere is fun. The service is friendly and courteous.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank papa-oo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Five star food; One star noise”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

The $9 club sandwich was the BEST sandwich I've had anywhere in years. Absolutely tasty on homemade bread and perfectly seasoned. Plain bagged potato chips were included -- something a little nicer would have been better. Overall, food was excellent. However, the din was unacceptably loud for a member of our party with hearing aids, and conversation was nearly impossible without shouting.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Neighborhood favorite”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Zanata is a locally owned favorite and gathering place on the square in Rockwall. Everything is fresh and much is locally grown. Their pizzas are delicious and creative with a nice thin crust. But they go far beyond pizza with appetizers and entrees that make it a good location for a date night. Lunches are just as good, Nice soups and salads. Service is excellent.It's a favorite place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KCK4263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zanata also viewed

 

Been to Zanata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing