We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New management is terrible”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rockport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Laguna Reef Condominiums
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Rockport
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We have been coming here since 1997. The hotel no longer has free continental breakfasts. They don't clean the rooms unless you request it (they don't tell you that), we found a used plastic toothpick on the nightstand. They didnt even empty the trash can in the room The entrance to the pier was missing a board and full of seaweed, my wife fell when she grabbed the railing and it gave way. Laguna Reef is run like a fish camp and I'm okay with that but not at almost $200.00 a night. There are better hotels for that kind of money. We'll stay at the Lighthouse next time.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Homelesstexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 89 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed in a clean and spacious 4th floor two-bedroom suite at the Laguna Reef during a Christmas vacation trip to Rockport to view the whooping cranes at Aransas Wildlife Refuge. The master bedroom and living room both featured a balcony and floor to ceiling windows and an unimpeded view of the bay. Every morning we threw back the drapes to enjoy spectacular sunrises, and enjoyed early morning and late afternoon walks along the waterfront and the private fishing pier. The kitchen was adequately stocked for preparation of simple meals and the furniture in the living and dining room areas was clean and comfortable, although somewhat dated. The beds were very comfortable, and we all slept well. Amenities were pretty minimal, and room service was provided only every three days. However, the staff was friendly, welcoming, and provided helpful information about area dining, shopping and attractions. While the front desk was closed overnight, we were given phone numbers to contact staff if we had any after-hours needs. All in all, it felt very much as if we had our own private condo on the beach rather than staying in a resort hotel. It was quiet, private, and altogether satisfactory for a low-key getaway.

Room Tip: Third and fourth floor rooms facing the bay are a definite plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lkoxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

One of the worst hotels ever for >$100 a night. Very old lumpy bed, ripped linens, old ripped carpet with mystery stains. The only housekeeping service they provide is clean towels- they do not make the bed, change linens, vacuum carpet or clean up bathroom. Truly a horrible stay. They get your money up front so luckily we only planned to stay for 2 nights. Would have rather slept in the car-it was much cleaner!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank laugh2love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

My husband and I have been staying at Laguna Reef for years and have always enjoyed our stay. We went last weekend to Rockport and stayed of cours at aLaguna Reef expecting the same friendly service that we have always had. Instead we were treated very rudely and found out that the hotel had new owners and new management policies. Instead of feeling like home away from home we were made to feel that we were just an inconvenience to the staff at the front desk. We did however learn that another management company will soon be taking over and hopefully things will go back to the way they used to be. The whole weekend was spoiled by the attitude of the staff at laguna Reef.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank weekender049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

The only thing descent was the fishing off the pier. Some of the staff looked friendly but I found one to be rude "Timothy". The carpeting in the room was torn across, one bed was leaning toward one side, and the room was humid, even with ac running. My room came with a portable humidifier. Not a good stay. I didn't even bother to change rooms. Spent $218.00 for two nights. My other family members had similar problems and changed rooms. Others just didn't check in and stayed else where. Not worth the money and regretted not staying at the holiday inn express. If they have to change your room, forget it.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Coug75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

I have been staying at Laguna Reef for the past 25 years. When my husband and I got married in 2001 he started coming to Rockport with me and we still stay at Laguna Reef. We have stayed between the two of us in almost every motel/hotel in Rockport and always come back to Laguna Reef. Love the location, hot tub is the best ever and the view of Aransas Bay is amazing. Rooms need updating, but they are clean and spacious. Thanks for a relaxing weekend!

Weekender from Victoria, Tx

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weekender049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2010

I visited the end of Jan. '10, early Feb. for some warmth (I live in PA) and birding. It was cooler than usual, in the '50s, but the birding was very good, especially seeing the whooping cranes. The Laguna Reef was a good place to stay-inexpensive, clean, right on the bay (good for fishing and birding). Great view from my balcony over the bay. Also near the main drag in Rockport, with shops and art galleries. The staff was friendly and helpful. Good, simple 'continental' breakfast provided-not just some rolls and drinks, but different muffins and even cold cereal and yogurt. One criticism: the walls are thin, I could hear the people and TV from next door. But since I was out much of the time this was a minor problem ( and only in the living room, not in the bedroom). All in all a good place to stay, and a good trip.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbcranegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rockport hotels
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rockport / Bay View
3.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rockport - Fulton
0.3 mi away
Hunt's Castle Hotel
Hunt's Castle Hotel
#17 of 20 in Rockport
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rockport - Fulton
3.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rockport
3.4 mi away
Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Reef Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Reef Condominiums

Address: 1021 S Water St, Rockport, TX 78382-2325
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Rockport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Rockport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
Price Range: $109 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Texas coastal vacationing at its best! We have 1, 2 and 3 bedroom condominiums, as well as standard hotel rooms, in our 4 story building with elevator access. Each unit is decorated in a special way. The condos all have an amazing view of the bay from the balcony with the best sunrise you'll ever see over the water. Each one has fully equipped kitchens and are fully furnished with an assortment of twin, queen and king size beds. We have a 1000 foot, private, lighted fishing pier with water light for night fishing, a pool and hot tub for our guests enjoyment. There are picnic tables with grills for outdoor cooking and entertainment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Laguna Reef Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing