We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We WILL be back!”
Review of Bayfront Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bayfront Cottages
Lampasas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We WILL be back!”
Reviewed August 5, 2011

My husband is a former motel owner, and we were both pleased with the service AND the room. I had read some less than stellar reviews of this place, and it just goes to show there are some people who can't be happy. Yes, the room first smelled like lysol- they had just MOPPED. That's the smell of CLEAN. I didn't see a single bug, like someone had complained about. I even took bug spray just in case... The pillows were fluffy and wonderful, despite reviews that said otherwise. It was QUIET, and all the guests were neighborly. We loved the pier. We have already made reservations for another trip for the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karaokekowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    17
    10
    5
    17
See reviews for
29
21
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Booked a one-night stay with friends based on half-way decent photos online. In actuality, when we got there, it appeared more like run-down project housing. Room had dirty smell and appearance, like hadn't been cleaned in long while. Bathroom had hole with exposed wiring where light switch used to be. Not enough towels, so had to beg for two more from an unconvinced manager. The towels were very thin and had stains that hadn't washed out (if they were really washed at all) The BONUS of the night, however, was, to find BEDBUGS in both beds, between sheets, IN THE PILLOWCASES, and surrounding floor area. Our first and hopefully last experience with these critters. We were so sickened by the whole thing that we couldn't stand another minute in the place, so we packed our bags and woke the night manager to get our money back and leave. Before we could get our money back, though, the guy had to come to our room to see for himself that we were telling the truth. UNBELIEVABLE! Never again at that place!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shopperlindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lyles d, Manager at Bayfront Cottages, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
I am very sorry that you had this experience at Bayfront please let it be known that we take this problem very seriously. We have removed all the beds and bedding and sprayed the entire room. We have replaced the beds and anything that may have been infested, please let me apologize again for your experience we try to keep our rooms clean to the highest standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rockport hotels

San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
124 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

This is the most minimalist "cottage" I have ever stayed in. There was nothing in the kitchenette other than a sink and appliances. No utensils of any kind, no towels, paper or cloth, the beds and pillows are rather frightening if you look under the sheets and pillowcases. The attitudes of employees is also less than stellar, except for the sweet little maid.
Don't bother for the price.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AuntBec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

Beds of stone or worse, pillows no thicker than a folded towel and when we asked for extra pillows were told they don't do that. No wash clothes or hand towels the 2nd day. No water pressure. Were told the floors had just been cleaned but they were slick as if greasy or cleaner was still on them. Thin panel curtains that could be seen through at night, offering no privacy. Customer service was appalling. They had my money and they did not care about my comfort or concerns. I will never stay here again and I will warn all those I can to steer clear of this place.

Room Tip: My advice is to stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank country_girl_68__11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lyles d, Manager at Bayfront Cottages, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
I am sorry you had this experience with us . We have replaced all our pillows with new ones ,and we have changed to a different cleaning compound so the floors don't feel slick . If you will come back I will personally see that you have a very nice stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
133 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2011

The room stunk from floor being mopped with Lysol. The floor was still wet when I checked in. The bed was dirty and the sheets appeared unwashed. Dead bugs all over the floor. I used my sleeping bag as I refused to lay on the dirty mattress.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kimjady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Converse, Texas
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2010

Great bang for the buck. Great location with large safe fishing pier. Has the staples for family vacation, clean bed, shower, and cold AC. Room was recently upgraded. Didn't need to chase away the roaches like some other places in the area. Owner was friendly and talked to me about ongoing improvements and upgrades. Already great, can't wait to see the final product. Will admit it's not a luxury hotel. Go stay at the Omni in Corpus if you expect luxury and can afford it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichLetiC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2010

they need to wash the sheets and clean up once in a while . A real over priced dump.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neutural
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
0.1 mi away
Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rockport / Bay View
0.4 mi away
Inn At Fulton Harbor
Inn At Fulton Harbor
#1 of 4 in Fulton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rockport - Fulton
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rockport - Fulton
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rockport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayfront Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayfront Cottages

Property: Bayfront Cottages
Address: 309 S Fulton Beach Rd, Rockport, TX 78382-7635
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Rockport
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Bayfront Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayfront Cottages Hotel Rockport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing