We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hunt's Castle Hotel
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Rockport
Reviewed November 28, 2010

After we received the key and went to our room, we found it unclean. Dirty glass on table. Bathroom mirror had been sprayed all over and only two wipes of a towel were done. Windows were dirty. Floor hadn't been swept or mopped. Top of refrigerator was caked with dirt.We brought it to the desk clerk's attention and asked for cleaning material so we could take care of it. We did get a broom and dustpan for the floors and used dish soap and water to clean the mirror. Chair at table was broken. Kitchen cabinets were caked with dirt from people opening and closing the door. Coils on stove were sticky. When the door to the balcony was opened, the wind blew a cracker wrapper out from under the bed. The recliner looked like it had been picked up off the side of the road. The next morning, we really looked at the bathroom. Under the toilet seat hadn't been cleaned. There was mold on the wall at the ceiling and the paint was bubbling off the wall. The bathtub was still dirty and the outside had either blood or feces dotted on it. Not sure what was splattered on the walls both in the bathroom and the bedroom, but it was disgusting. The sink still had someone elses toothpaste in it. Dishes and silverware in the kitchen cabinets were still dirty. We made a list and presented it to the desk. The third day and our last day, the toiletry bag was moved from the side of the sink at the wall, roaches crawled out of the plug outlet. That was the last straw for us. We didn't stay as long as we had intended, we packed rapidly and checked out. When we mentioned these things to the desk clerk and maintenance tech and told them that we were retired military and expected certain standards, the comment was "Oh well, that explains it." No, we spent $242 for two nights and expected cleanliness. We didn't get it. On a positive note, the hotel has an great view and the pier was a good fishing location. Watching the sunrise was very humbling and truly an expression of how awesome our Lord is.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harleygirl73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (360)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 360 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2010

My family and I along with our neighbors stayed at Hunts Castle for Thanksgiving from Wednesday thru Sunday and had a blast! The fishing was AWESOME and the pier that Hunts Castle has is easy access to big fish. Our children ranged from 5 years old to 15 years old and everyone of them had a wonderful time and caught fish. I must mention how friendly everyone was at the front desk. Ravi was the one that we had originaly spoke to about our reservation for just my family at first. Then, our neighbors decided they also wanted to go and a few days later our neighbors brother wanted to go but then after making the reservation he backed out. Ravi was so polite, helpful and understaing. He worked with us the whole time never losing patients even once(which is not an easy task). The other 2 ladies at the front desk also were very helpful, cheerful and just great people to talk with. Charlie! We LOVED Charlie the maintenance man! He works his butt off and always has a smile while doing it! I think we all are going back again each and every Thanksgiving to spend time with our new extended family at Hunts Castle! Thank you to everyone for helping us have a Happy Thanksgiving! See you next year for the turkey frying! Oh yeah, Charlie, the kids said the dough nuts were wonderful and thank you!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heatherrichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2010

The hotel is very nice has excellent pier with plenty of lighting. Everyone is very friendly

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 48redskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2010

this hotel has the perfect water front view, as well as fantastic rooms, free donuts and coffee in the morning, and a great selction of cable channels. i cant remember going to rockport and staying in any other hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank treski20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2010

My husband and I have been staying here for years, at least twice a year for fishing off the pier. This last Oct. all the family met us there. It was embarrassing the rooms were dirty including the toilets had not been cleaned. The lights on the pier were dim and people from other hotels were blocking off the middle of the pier, we could not even walk to the end. Never staying there again. We have already shared this on the Texas Fishing Forum so would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
Thank Brenda_langston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2010

I just want to thank Ken for giving me an awesome rate once again, I have not been in the area in 5 years and I sent him an e mail, he made me a great deal and they are always very friendly there. We will be there the first week in Nov. and I really appreciate this family and pet friendly place to stay. I would recommend this hotel to any and everyone wanting to deal with down to earth, family oriented folks. Thanks Ken!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adkinsdrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAREDISE, Owner at Hunt's Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2010

I am not even sure where to start. I am writing to inform of my sincere appologies for the revue that was written from this account. We stay logged onto our trip advisor account and one of our employees had let a customer use our computer to print out there airline tickets and at that time they must have posted a revue as well. I will assure that this will not happen again in the future. I have read the owners manual and we will be taking some advice as to maybe order some cards or at least print out the flyer and encourage customers to give a rating after returning home.
The review has not yet been listed yet we are waiting

Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2010

If you want fancy and frilley, Hunt's Castle is probably not it. If you want a great place to stay with a great staff and the best location and the most amazing views on the Texas Coast, look no farther! Our only complaint was we had to leave way too soon! We look forward to our next trip to Hunt's Castle. It will be the only place we stay on the coast. Not only would we recommend Hunt's Castle to our family and friends, we already have!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zane50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rockport / Bay View
2.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rockport - Fulton
14.2 mi away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 20 in Port Aransas
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Harbour Inn
Harbour Inn
#6 of 20 in Rockport
31 reviews
3.1 mi away
Motel 6 Rockport
Motel 6 Rockport
#12 of 20 in Rockport
32 reviews
0.8 mi away
Reel'em Inn On the Bay
Reel'em Inn On the Bay
#14 of 20 in Rockport
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunt's Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunt's Castle Hotel

Address: 725 S Water St, Rockport, TX 78382-2439
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Rockport
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Rockport
Price Range: $62 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hunt's Castle Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have one of the longest piers in Rockport lit up with green lights. We also have music on Friday and Saturday. A newly added boardwalk in front with BBQ pits. Paddleboat rentals and kayaks A swimming pool and a hot tub ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hunt's Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunt`s Castle Hotel Rockport
Hunts Castle Rockport
Hunts Castle Hotel Rockport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing